Marketing Your Story

150710-make-your-story-heard (1)

(image taken from: http://www.act.com/)

I was reading another blog post today when I thought about this topic. Recently, I made a big change that could be good or bad for my writing. As some of you know, I used to write on Wattpad. A lot of my marketing and getting readers was from Wattpad. The joy of Wattpad is readers could find my story and add it to their reading list. However, now I’m just another little person on WordPress without an easy way to find me (or my stories).

This leads me to wonder, “How should I market my stories?”

I already have a Facebook page, Twitter page, and I still use my Wattpad site. Well, I don’t really use my Twitter and Wattpad site; I just kind of have them.

My dilemma now is how to get new readers to find me :/

Marketing isn’t easy. In fact, I read an article today about why an author quit his day job. He commented that if he still had his day job, he wouldn’t be able to market or promote his work like he did.

One method I use to promote my work is to ask readers questions about the story. Well, don’t try it, it doesn’t work =( I am kind at a loss here for how to market my work. If anyone has any tips or ideas, please let me know. Since I’ve left Wattpad behind to explore the writing world on my own, I’m like a lost kitten trying to find a new home.

Oh, and by the way, I will have a new cover of Clash of Tides coming and new pictures of Assan =)  Sigh…I would think a story about merman and mermaids would gather more readers, but I guess not.

17 thoughts on “Marketing Your Story

  1. Hey there!
    Thanks for liking a post on my blog!
    I decided to come check out you blog and fell in love with your idea’s and writing. You may find me liking all your stuff from now on.
    I have the same problem, I want people to comment but no-one takes the bait. *sighs* I even made a post asking for comments :P.
    Anyway best of luck!
    ShadowSummit

    Liked by 1 person

    • Of course! Your world sounds so interesting. I can’t wait to check out more of your work. Aww thanks =)

      Yes, the struggle for authors to get comments on their work is very real > < lol I've made post like that before, too. Don't worry, I'll comment on your stuff. I'll add to my reading list^^.

      Thanks for stopping by ^___^

      Like

  2. Word of mouth is what helps the most. Being active with readers, sharing your story with them, etc. These things will gather attention on their own. Rather than being full on ‘read and comment’, lure them in with something and let them discover what you have to offer. Just a suggestion. It’s worked very well for me and I’m a Smashwords Most Downloaded Author. I’ve never paid a dime to market my books. Best of luck!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, and yeah, the read and comment method hasn’t worked for me. I suppose it’s time to give that up lol Thanks for the advice, I’ll just engage my readers and see what happens. Oh! Can you tell me how Smashwords works? I’ve heard of it before but I’ve never used it. That’s awesome you are a most downloaded author. How did you build yourself up?

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Following others definitely works to bring newbies to your site! Here I am! thanks for the follow!!
    I’ve been blogging for 2 years, and don’t do any marketing at all, unless posting to FB, G+, and occasionally pinning is marketing?? I’m pretty clueless.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Forgive me. I haven’t read the other advice yet, but on WP, you have to go the readers. For example, try searching for the genre in which you write (in the reader). That way you’ll have the people who like reading your type of work.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

