What has inspired your writing?

inspiration-sign

(Image from https://www.tnooz.com)

As I was working on Chapter 17 part 1 today for Clash of Tides, I was thinking about what has inspired my writing. Growing up, I’ve always been into video games, anime, and fantasy. When I was a little girl, I loved watching Sailor Moon, The Legend of Hercules and anything else fantasy  related.

In a strange way, I felt like I was drawn to it, like it was calling to me.

To my fellow writers, have you ever had that experience? That you felt a certain genre was calling to you. And also, what has inspired your writing?

I can’t wait to read the answers =)

13 thoughts on “What has inspired your writing?

  1. I think a lot of today’s writers are inspired by video games and anime, particularly the younger breed. I think it’s important to continue to branch out and find inspiration in other avenues as well, although I’ve certainly been inspired by some of the same as well. I also find art to be a wonderful source of inspiration, which keeps me busy on Pinterest. What I read, what I watch…all of it comes together in that subconscious stew and boils over.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for responding to me. Ah, yes, music has inspired me, too. I do agree that there is inspiration everywhere, we just have to watch out for it 🙂

      Like

  2. I have always loved the concept of urban fantasy and the paranormal in general. A whole world, unknown to people. Things, creatures, people that are different, exciting and possess certain qualities humans could only dream of. Growing up, I loved Interview With A Vampire, Dracula, and just about anything from Stephen King (both written and screened versions). Prior to that, I loved Goosebumps, C. S. Lewis, etc. I loved how the old versions were new again in exciting ways (bad example, but think fangs vs. venomous saliva). I couldn’t get enough.💕

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve always loved to read books, I could stay up all night just to finish a book. I just love the idea of creating your own world which would such in people as they read it, what will make you loss your sense of time. And I also watch anime, but I don’t think that had inspired me to write, well anime had inspired me to write fanfiction 😛 But not an original story. Actually the idea for writing my own original story was brought to me by a dream I had, that dream was so real and stayed in my mind all day. And you gave me the courage to put my story online 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m so happy I inspired you =) Your comment actually inspired my next blog post for today. The idea of creating our own worlds is so much fun. Imagine if we had VR today that we could create with our own minds. We would make so many cool stories! Thanks so much for responding to me!

      Like

  4. You liked Sailor Moon too! Cool! I read a lot of Goosebumps, Babysitters Club, Dr. Seuss, some of the classics like The Wizard of Oz, Dracula, etc… The fanfictions I write now are based on some anime and books (yes I still love some anime but not like I was when I was in my 20s). I also read a lot of history books today based on WW II. My novel that I am working on takes place in pre-WW II Germany. I find this interesting because I didn’t find history interesting in school at all. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sailor Moon was like my very first anime lol It’s so funny that you should say that, because I’m more into history now, too. What is your novel about? I love period stories because I find them so unique.

      Like

      • It’s going to be focusing on two gay men. One, a U.S. Army Captain who is transferred to Berlin, Germany at the beginning of 1939. He meets a German man from the German Army. Being homosexual is basically forbidden from the army on both sides so they have to hide it. In 1939, Hitler attacks Poland, so it is considered an almost pre-war year. I’m still trying to figure out a lot of what it will have to feature, but they will have to go to another country to escape the Nazis’. It’s my first history novel, well novel anyway. 🙂

        Like

  5. Personally, when I was younger I always loved books like Anne of Green Gables, Pride and Prejudice and so on, but to tell you the truth I don’t think I could write in that sort of genre. I love reading it and have tried writing it but I don’t have the same passion for writing it. Now days I read more fantasy, assassin and adventure books. Its funny how our tastes change slightly. 🙂
    With fantasy I can make my own world, creatures, unique characters and have them experience the feelings that we have here in the real world.
    Music is also so inspirational. Whenever I hear some music, it sparks the imagination. I’ve always been imaginative but with the internet its so easy to find fantasy inspired music, that it then inspires me to make fantasy.
    Anyway, its fun to see what inspires other writers out there. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

