Defining Your Success as a Writer

defining-success-in-your-organization-4-638

(image not owned by me)

At which points during your writing journey did you measure how successful you are or were?

I’m not going to speak about myself in this post because I want to read what other writers have done. I’m also hoping this will help other writers on WordPress network with each other.

Oh, and currently, I’m reading Deity’s Soulmate 😀 It’s a book I bought from a published WordPress writer.

Let’s start the discussion!

10 thoughts on “Defining Your Success as a Writer

    • That’s a good way of looking at it. Instead of comparing myself to other writers, I’m going to try to only compare myself against myself. That way I can measure my success and failure.

      Liked by 2 people

      • Yes, exactly. Every writer is different. Their audience is different. And unfortunately sometimes the masses just follow someone popular because that’s the thing to do, or they’ll follow a writer based on looks. It’s hard to compare with so many different variables.

        Liked by 2 people

  1. I think success for writers shifts over time. As the project starts and the book begins to form, you look for those little successes – 1000 words a day, 2000 words a day. You fight the battle of the chapter. “Can I just get through this chapter? The next one is going to be so much easier to write!” It’s the, “Grass is greener,” mentality. If you push through those tough to write chapters – success!

    More words get typed, more progress is made, then the light at the end of the tunnel starts coming. “If I can just get to the end and finish this first draft.” Then you type those two little words, “The End.” Success!

    A lot of authors have told me finishing the first draft, for them, is always a huge accomplishment. The bones of the story are there, and some meat – however deformed. Then it’s editing time, it comes with its little successes as you push through and polish. Then Beta Readers, some will love it some will hate it – more small successes.

    The nightmare of trying to get an agent, publishing, or even self-publishing is full of successes and failures as well.

    Ultimately, by setting milestones for success you increase your ability and motivation to continue working. You never fail, unless you simply stop writing entirely. Each day, each word, each sentence in its own way is a success.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I didn’t start writing until I felt I had something to say. I’ll be done when I’ve said it. In the while, IO try to be as interesting, entertaining and clear as I possibly can. I’m old, you’re young; it’s different I know. But there it is. You write your own story and it really doesn’t matter what others think, except in your bank account. but you’ve gotta have standards of your own so how do you establish those? Who do you read? Is there some writer or artist you admire? Why? Would you like to be like them? Why?

    You are beautiful and talented, smart and thoughtful. You will go as far as you want to go as long as you persevere.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Personally, I find the hardest part of writing to be actually writing and getting the words out, so to me, ‘success’ is achieving whatever quota I set for myself. Other than that, there’s the success of finally typing ‘The End’ at the end of your draft. Maybe this is just me, but whenever I write something that I feel I need to write, whether it be a poem, article, or a full length story, just expressing whatever it is I felt like I had to say feels like a pretty great achievement too.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. With only one book under my name, maybe my view is a little different. I’m still thinking of success in terms of amassing an audience and gaining reviews and readers.

    I feel that since I got book 1 out and am working on book 2 that of course I can manage. Maybe not as quick as I’d like, but it will come out. I can control that aspect of the process.

    What I can’t control, only influence, is getting my works in the hands of other readers. Spreading that word is how I view my own success.

    Not to challenge others’ views on their success, just to illustrate how I view my own (as-of-yet-not-achieved) version of success.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. If you could change the wrong perceptions of a view people with your writing ,if you could motivate a few,who are depressed and if you could instill happiness in the reader’s ,that’s wat is success according to me.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

