Wishing

tumblr_ngqyg3mbqe1rwfctbo1_1280.gif

One night, a little girl and her mother were sitting on the porch staring up at the sky. The little girl tilted her head, and her eyes sparkled with curiosity.

“Mom, what are those?” she asked, pointing her tiny finger to the darkness above her.

The mother hummed in response, and then said, “Those are stars.”

“St-ar-s,” the small girl repeated.

The mother chuckled lightly, and a smile danced across her lips. “Yes, stars. And every day, when you see the first star of the night, you can make a wish. One day, the wish may come true.” The beaming grin stayed on the woman’s face as she looked at her daughter. The curious, little female kept her gaze on the dimly lit sea of stars, musing over her mother’s words.

From that moment on, every day, before the sun lowered in the horizon, the small child would search for the first star.

“I wish for an adventure.”

However, every day was still the same.

“I wish for an adventure.”

But still, time kept moving, and instead of an adventure, was only middle school.

“I wish for an adventure.”

Then came high school.

“I wish for an adventure.”

Now off to college.

“I wish for an adventure.”

The real world awaits.

The once young girl was now a grown woman, staring at the world above her. She sat on the balcony of her apartment, alone, with a glass of Chardonnay in her hand.

“Instead of wishing, I am going to make my own adventure.” The corner of her lips turned upwards, and it was finally time for her adventures to begin.

So, this short story reflects how I felt growing up. Every day, I would long for an adventure, to see new places and explore the world. It’s kind of strange, though. I wonder if this is how my writing mind developed. I always knew there was something weird about wanting to fly on a dragon’s back, or wishing I could control fire. Hmm, well, I guess these desires helped form the writer in me.  =) 

Growing up, how did you know you wanted to be a writer?

11 thoughts on “Wishing

  1. I was that little girl and I thank you for sharing this. My wanting to write started with Little House On The Prairie by Laura Ingalls Wilder. Those books are still in my heart and I still wish upon the first star I see everynight. But now I can make my own adventures in writing!

    Liked by 2 people

    • You’re very welcome! I’m happy you were able to connect with my little short story 🙂 I remember reading that book, and it’s so hard to forget books we’ve read as kids. I do the same 🙂 We can now make our own adventures with our stories^^

      Liked by 1 person

  2. As an only child, you tend to have a lot of alone time. I didn’t have video games, and I couldn’t go out much. I ended up playing on the computer on Word. Through music and dreams, I decided to start writing those dreams down, and eventually, my imagination began to grow fields and mountains and oceans to the point where I couldn’t stop. I love writing and story telling, I really do. 🙂 I love the story by the way, very cute and very inspiring.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Right now, I don’t believe I will pursue writing for profit, however publishing a book sounds amazing, even if I make about 5 dollars out of it. I’m still young so opportunities await me. What has really sparked my interest in writing has been my English 1 class, we read an article based on Black Friday, how a crowd injured a pregnant woman and I believe killed a man throughout the chaos. The event was not what captured me, it was the author who caught the event so lively. He was brilliant by the way he exposed this tragedy, his writing inspired me to see what I could create by writing, I’ve always been better with a pen and paper than I have been with spitting out nonsense.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

