Losing Readers

Yesterday, I had a reader tell them they are no longer going to read my stories. It hurt, but I respected their decision. When I moved away from posting on Wattpad, I knew some readers wouldn’t be happy. I don’t deny it; Wattpad is easier to read stories on than WordPress is. However, my feelings for Wattpad are so strong I just don’t want to have my work there anymore. If Wattpad was a more respectable writing site, then I would have kept my stories there, but it’s not.

Anyway, losing readers suck, and it hurts, but I’m going to keep on writing. I know the readers who have stuck with me through thick and thin are my true fans. I don’t want to disappoint them.

If you ever notice you are losing readers, don’t forget, you do have those true fans who will stick by you.

Has anyone else lost readers before? If you did, how did you feel?

11 thoughts on “Losing Readers

  1. An important thing to remember about sites that focus on authors posting their stories is the competition aspect that most of us on Word Press dislike. I don’t see it as loosing readers, but as that you grow as an author. Besides, just because they say they will stop reading does not mean that they will stop all together. If those characters are worthy of the reader’s mind, they will come back to hunt their minds on what happens next.

    Liked by 2 people

    • That’s true. Hopefully, they’ll come back one day and keep reading. Yes, that is one reason I strongly dislike Wattpad. It’s too much of a popularity contest and not really about the writing.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. True, there are some true fans who stay with you forever, and I think that they are the best but also very hard to find…

    Like

    • You are right, those are indeed the best fans 🙂 I do have a few fans like that, though. It’s because of them I have the drive to keep on writing. Thanks for checking out my blog 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • I have some such fans too, and your welcome, I just joined WordPress so I was reading through blogs… 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

