Handling Feedback

1HH2222

Before I begin on this topic, I want to thank everyone who responded to my other post. It’s nice to know I’m not alone in my feelings about writer’s cliques.

Now on to feedback!

Recently I asked my readers to leave me feedback on Clash of Tides. Yes, I am aware the story isn’t finished yet, but I wanted to know at least for now how the story has been doing.

Most of the feedback I received was positive, except for the following

  • Too much internal thoughts – This, I fully agreed! I need to get better at writing inner thoughts and not having them sound repetitive.
  • Too much description – This I felt divided. I am a descriptive writer, but I don’t want to have so much description that it bores the reader. Once I do the rewrite, I will evaluate this
  • World building – The world needs to be fleshed out more. I agreed with this feedback
  • The plot – Sometimes the plot can be hard to follow. I also agreed with this because there is so much going on. There is the plot in the water and the plot on land. As I was reading different mermaid and mermen stories, this seems to be a common theme that a lot of writers deal with. In fact, I’m reading a merman comic right now called Siren’s Lament. When I first started reading it, I loved it. However, now since the author is 20 chapters into the story, I’m starting to see all the issues with it. One of my main problems is a lack of plot progression and the characters time on land. I’ve found that in mermaid or merman stories, it’s either the human MC gives up their life on land, or the merman character goes to the surface with the MC. In my book, I’m trying to blend both the undersea world and land. That brings me to my next point of feedback.
  • Time on land takes away from the water – This is another one I felt divided. I do agree that Elena’s time on land takes away from the merpeople’s plot, but Elena is human, and there is a whole big plot that will take place on the surface. And also, there is Seidon, Mika, and Lucas. As I said, I felt divided on this one. Clash of Tides is complicated like Game of Thrones, so maybe as I writer I’m not showing that enough to my readers.

I don’t want to spend too much of this post talking about my feedback, but if you are going to get feedback on your stories, judge what feedback to consider. Many of the feedback I received was good, but at the same time, some I had to question.

For those who are curious, this is what readers enjoy about the story:

  • Assan’s character. He is one of the main male characters and a merman, so I’m happy readers like him.
  • Elena’s character. Again, she is the main female character and the protagonist, so I would hope she is liked lol
  • Unique plot
  • My writing and style
  • Many readers loved my long descriptions
  • The overall mystery of the story

Before I end this post, I just want to remind everyone to be mindful of the feedback you receive. Really read the feedback, and don’t look at it like they are attacking your baby (your story). It took me a long time to accept feedback, and now since I do, I enjoy having others help me improve my work. Of course, I only consider feedback if I can tell they are genuine – not attacking me or judging my story. By judging, I mean not assuming it’s a bad story because it has romance in it. I have dealt with feedback before like that on Wattpad, and that feedback isn’t helpful.

8 thoughts on “Handling Feedback

  1. You know I love your writing/work….and, I soooo admire how you meet constructive feedback head on….that’s amazing….you have the confidence to consider and discern….what a balance that must be considering it concerns a novel, not simply a short post…thanks for sharing and taking risks and inspiring us 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks haha It took me a long time to get here, accepting feedback that is. I love sharing with all of you^^ Thank you for taking the time to read my blog and comment. And you are always inspiring me to better myself 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Acknowledging and taking in feedback is an important skill not only as a writer, but a human being. However, never let your readers determine the direction or decisions you make in your writing. There is a conversation between author and reader and to let your work be influenced by your readership would be like someone interrupting you in telling a story. Also, not everyone is going to like reading the same thing. I love description and for that enjoy reading the likes of Tolkien and other authors that rely heavily on it. For this same reason, I don’t like reading Hemingway because of his brevity. I understand and acknowledge the differences in style and choose to read one over the other because of this. So when people might say there is too much or too little description, it is ultimately up to you and I believe you understand that. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I haven’t had a chance to read it in its entirety yet, but that said, the following is one of the things that authors need to keep in mind. Beta readers are often right, if they’re all saying the same thing. But you’re skipping the beta process and releasing chapters as you finish them. Plus, you need to consider who is giving you this advice. Are these comments coming from people who’s writing you like and value their opinion? The next thing is your core. This is the original idea that came to mind that you wanted this book to be. For some, it’s a concept, for others, a theme. For my first book, it was discovery. Once you know your core, you should be willing to cut everything else in order to keep that core intact. You’re dealing with fantasy but it’s not just one world. It’s the water, and the rules of the water, and then land. You’ll need to reveal things as necessary, rather than dump tons of information all at once. Inner dialogs need to be relevant to what’s happening, and descriptions are necessary, and not overboard (think Tolkien and how it took him a few pages to describe a tree – that’s over the top). The rest is just making sure the story unfolds with purpose, rather than unnecessary scenes that don’t drive the plot.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ah, I agree with you. Being able to edit and recognize what needs improvement is something I want to do. As for the feedback, this came from my readers. With Clash of Tides, I do need to review my notes and figure out what ultimate goal I want for it. Overall, the book was to focus on a poor black woman trying to change her life. Thanks so much for the advice, Sarah! Your words are always so helpful 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Accepting feedback can be tough; you’re right! But it’s so important to do, and being able to accept it separates more mature writers from immature ones. Good luck with your story!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

