Writing Updates

giphy (2)

I don’t like blogging without a specific topic, but this week has been hard for me, and I haven’t had time to plan anything. However, I will provide a quick update on what I’ve been doing. Right now I’m working on chapter 14 of Love for an Angel. I will say what’s hard right now is planning out Lana’s time in Hell. I’m also working on the kind of relationship I want Lucifer and her to have. Uriel and Lana’s relationship is the easier one, given that Uriel doesn’t have a lot of baggage like Lucifer does lol

Honestly, it’s hard writing Lucifer in love, but it’s something I knew would happen when Lana went to Hell. I have a few ideas I’m excited to explore, and I plan to post chapter 14 this weekend.

I’m also writing some short stories right now, and I’m going to be entering some contest. For those who have been asking me how I formatted the stories on my site, I’ll be uploading some FAQs soon. =)

I feel like if I want to pursue this writing thing, then I need to start doing more with myself. I won’t lie, though; I am afraid to pursue full-time writing job. I always worry my writing isn’t good, or maybe I’m not clear enough. If my writing was good, or decent rather, I should have made headway long before now.

 

7 thoughts on “Writing Updates

  1. I think it’s every writer’s plight to worry whether they’re good enough. Watching George R.R. Martin ask Stephen King how he can whip out three novels in 6 months while Martin barely gets 3 chapters out at the same time really nailed it for me that we each have our processes, as well as our own insecurities. “If,” “should,” and “could” are like the death knell to creativity and those three words hit me hard this year because I usually will say it based upon a comparison to something else. “If I were more organized, I’d be as successful as X and Y,” or “I should be more successful now compared to this time last year.” I remember reading a short story by TC Boyle and it floored me at how deep it went for a short story and it disturbed me beyond the page. I wish I were as skilled as him and other writers, but I also know that we all have our own journeys in writing. Some of us keep at it because it’s a marathon, and not a sprint, while some only have a goal of publishing X number of books, and that’s that. I’m glad you’re considering entering contests. To me, it really challenges me and like the last one that Wattpad had for the fairy tale one, I ended up writing a novella that went up to 14K words, trimmed it to 9K for the contest and pulled it after one day after I knew in my heart the story deserved more than 9K words to be told. Now, I have a cover for it and as soon as I finish my current story, I’ll be expanding that contest piece into a 40K word novella. So, a spark and then a fire. That’s how it works sometimes 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Oh my gosh, I don’t mean to sound weird but, I’m so glad I’m not the only one struggling with life atm. It’s so hard to write when your busy and I just want to sleep… I dunno, maybe it’s just me.
    I want to pursue a career as a full time write too at some point. Also good luck with the competitions, are you going to be posting the short stories on here?
    P.S. If I spam your blog with tons of comments, it’s just because I finally have some time to read all your posts. 😀

    Liked by 2 people

    • Lol, You are definitely not the only one going through a hard time right now =) I’m also finding it hard to find time for reading and writing. And as writers, we need to read and write xD
      Thanks! To be honest, I’m a little nervous to be entering but hey, I have to see what happens. I do plan to post some short stories here soon. In fact, I was trying to find something to write about it today.

      Ah! I need to catch up on your stories this weekend.

      No worries, spam away!!!

      Like

  3. I agree with Liz and Shadow — every writer has these struggles, but it’s fighting through to the other side that’s important. 🙂 I just read Todd Lockwood’s debut novel The Summer Dragon (and posted about it), and while I loved it, I was also really disheartened that /his/ first novel was so detailed and deep, when I then look at my own novel (outlined but draft barely started), and it’s not as good. But my husband reminded me that he’s much further in the process than me, obviously, with a published book, and it’s not right to compare the two — once I have a draft, then I can edit, refine, deepen, etc. and who knows, maybe it /will/ be as good as his someday, but that day doesn’t have to be tomorrow. 🙂
    Jamie Lyn Weigt | Writing Dragons Blog

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for the encouragement^^ Sometimes, I wish I could jump through the time to get where I want to be. And if you keep writing, I’m sure you’ll get there. Thanks for responding to me^^

      Liked by 1 person

  4. “The Martian is a 2011 science fiction novel written by Andy Weir. It was his debut novel under his own name.[a] It was originally self-published in 2011; Crown Publishing purchased the rights and re-released it in 2014. The story follows an American astronaut, Mark Watney, as he becomes stranded alone on Mars in the year 2035[1] and must improvise in order to survive.[2][3][4] The Martian, a film adaptation directed by Ridley Scott and starring Matt Damon, was released in October 2015.[5]” – Wikipedia

    All of us start somewhere and I believe that you made a good start to your journey. Keep on writing and you will get there.

    “If my writing was good, or decent rather, I should have made headway long before now.” – You don’t work as a full time author and you have focus on other things like me for instance. So time is the key, not if our writing is good or decent.

    PS: I met Andy Weir. ^_^ He signed my copy of The Martian

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve heard of the “The Martian” before, and I wanted to read the book, but I haven’t had the time yet. That’s true; time is key, but I feel like I’ve been doing it for a while now. I’ve been writing for about four years, and I haven’t made much progress =(

      Thanks for the encouragement, though =)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

