Hard truths about being a Writer (and trying to publish)

Recently, I joined a new writing website where you have to critique other writers’ stories to post your own. At first, I didn’t think I would like that system, but so far I love it. As I was reading all the different stories on Scribophile and Fictionpress, I started thinking, “Trying to be a published writer is hard.”

For the experienced writers who are published, I’m sure you all realized this years ago, but the reality is finally hitting me.

  1. I’ve posted this gif a lot, but it’s so true! Writing is Hard!

1f8216c0-5306-0132-4201-0ebc4eccb42f

If you tell people you write, they mostly say, “Oh, that’s nice. Don’t quit your day job.” My response is usually a laugh and saying, “Thanks.” *rolls eyes and thinks, ‘You try writing a book – crafting characters, creating new worlds, and building backstory out of nothing’. 

  1. Most readers will not find your story! Whenever I’m on Fictionpress, Wattpad and WordPress I think, ‘When will more readers notice my work!!’

giphy (2)

While I was scanning through stories on Fictionpress.com, I noticed a lot, and I mean A LOT of writers that did not have any reads or reviews on their stories. Now don’t get me wrong, I know Fictionpress is a semi-dead website, but still, I was a little surprised. There were some good stories there that barely had reviews. Like, 20 chapter stories with only five reviews.

  1. Feedback hurts. When I read feedback, my thoughts are, ‘Thanks for the feedback! This will be really helpful…WHY DON’T THEY LIKE MY WORK!!!’ *tries to smile*

giphy (3)

Yes, feedback hurts, it just does, but it’s needed to improve. Now since I’m on Scribophile, I need to buckle down and accept what people are telling me.

  1. There is more work beyond writing! Marketing!! This goes back to the notice me, but damn, marketing your story is like another job. So you are telling me I have to write the story, do the first edit, find beta-readers, then edit again and then promote myself? While not getting paid!

My thoughts summed up:

giphy (4)

I’ve already tried to market my stories before, and I didn’t get that many readers. However, I’m going to try again on not just Wattpad.

5. No one owes you anything. Yeahhh, you know, after you spent all that time writing your story, you think, yes I will get published one day! I’ve earned it. Nope! No one owes you anything. You may have written the next big story like Harry Potter, but if the agent or publisher doesn’t like it, then goodbye! Life doesn’t owes you a thing.

tumblr_nos7mrpxwp1sj0ahko1_500

So yeah, it hurts, but it’s true. Now since I have a better sense of what to expect from writing, the pain is less, but hey, maybe one day magic will happen. Magic as in one day I will get published and have a decent fanbase =)

Magic

What hard truths did you learn about being a writer?

33 thoughts on “Hard truths about being a Writer (and trying to publish)

  1. Everything you said scares the crap out of me. Lol. But I’m learning to enjoy the process of writing rather looking to cash out. Don’t get me wrong I want everyone to love enjoy share and buy my book one day. But I think the best way to go into it go for me is to make sure I like the story I tell. After that it’s all marketing and hustle cause let’s be honest a lot of terrible stories make money. I just hope I write a fun one.

    Liked by 4 people

  2. I love this post! So much truth, and the photos used definitely helped stress your point. I’ve learned in writing that you need patience. Patience and trust in yourself, and in what you are doing, but also patience in trying to get out there.

    You are right, it is hard to get people to notice or take the time to read what you are writing. That being said, it makes those who do take the time to read and/or comment or critique your work…well it makes those that much more special!

    Good luck in your journey!

    Cheers! ^_^

    Liked by 3 people

    • Thanks! Yes, I’ve recently realized I’m not a patience writer, and I’m trying to get better at that. I strongly agree with you. Those who take the time to comment on my blog and stories always make my day. So, thanks for making my day^^

      Liked by 3 people

      • Thanks 🙂 I plan to use the same lesson I learned about patience this coming year. There is so many endless possibilities about what can happen, and I’m excited! Thanks so much for checking out my blog!! I can’t wait to read more of your work 🙂

        Liked by 2 people

      • No worries! I love reading others work. It is both inspiring and I learn a lot from other writers. I love experiencing new styles and worlds through others writing every bit as much as I do when I evolve in my own writing.

        It is part of why I love keeping a blog. You can go and read others works, but you can still share your own with others. It creates conversation and is always a fun and engaging experience.

        Cheers! ^_^

        Liked by 1 person

  3. It’s all for the joy of writing. One step at a time or you’ll feel overwhelmed. Beta readers aren’t too difficult, especially if you have friends that really dig your work and can give you honest feedback about it. You can also set up things like a “promo team” to have friends and family (and your other connections) sign up to share about your newest project as things are revealed or released. That worked really well for me. There’s also giving people early access, sort of like an ebook version of an ARC. That way there are several reviews waiting, along with your betas’ reviews when the book is published.

    Liked by 4 people

  4. I agree with all the comments above. Some things just don’t worry me as much anymore, I just try to enjoy the writing of my stories and the feedback of those who do support me. I also joined twitter recently, and its actually amazing how many writers are actually supportive and share on there. Anyway I always love reviews, it tells me what I need to improve or what I’m doing right. 🙂 But yeah, just copy what everyone else said above and you have the exact same things that I think. (>_<)

    Liked by 2 people

  5. I don’t mind feedback even when it hurts at first and is meant well. I sent the first 3500 words of my first novel to a highly respected editor for review and she told me I was not ready to publish. It hurt like hell and I had to take a step back and mull over the rest of the points she stated. She said the work was good BUT I had to find my voice and also move the action forward. A few weeks later, I returned to her critique and she was spot on with those points even though I went ahead and published the book as is anyway. It’s like a reminder to me that this is where I started and I want to see where I end up with future books. So welcome feedback; the fact that people actually took time to read your work and take the time to leave feedback is time they can’t get back – they gave that to you.

    Liked by 2 people

    • That’s great, Liz! It took me a long time to get over feedback hurting me, but I’ve made a lot of progress, and I don’t mind it anymore. Now, I welcome all the feedback I receive and thank the reader. I feel like I’ve grown a lot as a writer, and I have WordPress to thank for that. You are always giving me awesome advice whether through comments or your wonderful blog post. Thanks for sharing your story about feedback with me^^

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Writing is… certainly hard. Yet, completing a thousand-word article is truly fulfilling — regardless if it turned out bad or not. Though I guess the difference comes from whether I’m writing for myself, or I’m writing for my readers. Currently, I fall under the former.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Well said. The chain of thoughts goes on. The creation and destruction inside the mind goes on. And it is addictive. We love it. We want to share it, write it, publish it. But putting them into words that convey exactly what is to be conveyed is very difficult. And then publishing is another story of its own.

    I am writing a novel as well, or should I say, I’m trying to. The story in my mind is way ahead of the story in my diary and in digital form. And they have only been edited once.

    “I know the feeling bro.” – as my friend says (although he’s nowhere near the habit of writing).

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, that is another hard part about writing. I feel like some people don’t understand that when they say writing is easy. The dreaded publishing – the sending our babies out into the world to be picked up and published.

      Thanks for commenting! It’s always nice to read what other writers think.

      Like

  8. This is all soooooo true! The bit about marketing is especially true – I think we all love the idea of a fan base stumbling across our work and becoming completely enamoured organically but not even professionally published books get popular that way.

    If I were to add anything to the list it would be that you can’t make everyone happy. You can pour countless hours into carefully researching, planning, writing, and editing your story – doing everything you can to make it perfect – and there will always be someone who doesn’t like something about it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I honestly feel that marketing is one of the hardest things about being a writer. Like you said, not even published, professional authors get popular that way. There is always marketing done to lure readers in to read their story.

      That’s a good one! Silly me, I can’t believe I forgot that. Sometimes I’ll wonder how I can get good like some popular authors, but then I’ll see their Good Reads feedback, and learn not everyone liked their story. Writing can be cruel, but we love it so much^^

      Like

  9. Solid post! I really loved the content, how you spaced it out, and the hilarious photos and gifs. It really pushed me through quickly. You touched on a lot of great things here to be sure. The struggle is certainly real and shared by many of us. Keep your eyes on the prize, and your fingers hitting the keys, and it will pan out. Especially if you put in the work (which you certainly do). Thanks for sharing this gem!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! I’m so happy you liked it! I’m hoping that new writers who want to publish will get some idea of what writing is really like. It isn’t easy, but anything worth having you have to fight for.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

