Failure

Failure

I thought I was better than this,
But my skills are nothing

I tried hard to learn, to improve,
Even sacrificing time for family and friends

However, I didn’t get better,
My skills stayed the same.

I keep pushing forward,
But I see no advancement

I am not talented; I am not proficient,
Self-doubt has beaten me, taking over my thoughts

Maybe it’s time to move on,
To find something else, to find another past time that completes me.

I haven’t been posting any updates because I haven’t been writing lately. I felt like putting my thoughts down, so I wrote this poem. I really need to get better at writing poetry.

23 thoughts on “Failure

  1. I’m not liking this post because you have feelings of failure. I’m liking this post so you know I believe you are doing fine, and anything you are having trouble with can be improved.

    Experiment with your writing. You don’t have to do poetry, you could try any number of things. Don’t be afraid to experiment, and don’t put so much pressure on yourself.

    The only time you’ve truly failed (brace for it because it is going to be cliche) is when you completely give up and never try again.

    I believe in you!

    Cheers! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for the encouragement. It’s been a tough few days, but I’ll try to ignore this feeling of failure. I agree with you about experimenting with my writing more. I need to write different things if I want to improve. Thanks for responding to me^^

      Liked by 1 person

      • No worries. I wouldn’t say ignore the idea of failure entirely, but maybe turn what you feel is failure into your fuel. Turn it to your advantage so to speak. Still, regardless it is something you will learn on your own journey in your own way.

        I simply wanted you to realize, you are not the only one who has been to that point, you are not alone, and there is nothing wrong with going through struggle, it is how you grow in life and just as much as a writer or any artist.

        Cheers! ^_^

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I wouldn’t worry. These feeling can get the best of us at times, and it takes time. We just cannot left these feelings destroy us when they come. They do come, many times in the form of people trying to bring you down.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sometimes I feel this feeling comes more often than normal for me. However, I realized I’m focusing too much on only two stories and not expanding my work. Maybe once I start on some new stories, things will get better. Thanks for responding to me^^

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I wrote nothing but poetry for a couple of years, trying to develop my skills. I’ve got tons of mediocre poems to show, maybe one or two that I still like. Once I got over that phase, I began to read about the techniques of storytelling. Several of my writing buddies swear by Stephen King’s book on writing; he ought to know a thing or two.
    Anyway, don’t give up, chop, chop. It’s just a matter of discipline, to get you to the success and joy that awaits you.
    You know that I’ve been following your blog and I’m confident that if you want to be a successful writer, you’ll blow everybody away with your fantastic abilities.
    Just focus. Energy flows where attention goes.

    Keep writing, little sister. Love you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much for the encouragement^^ I’ve read Stephen King’s book on writing, and it was very helpful. I’ll try to crawl out from this funk and get back to writing. I hope one day I can publish a book that a lot of people love ^__^

      Like

  4. The fact you wrote this post means you haven’t failed. When it comes to writing (which is a lifelong struggle) you never fail until you simply stop. I’ve read memoirs by authors who have sold millions of books – Stephen King, Steven Pressfield, Bonnie Friedman – and the list goes on.

    Each one of their personal accounts of the writing life vary, but there is one constant – each and every one of them felt they had failed at one point or the other. Even after becoming famous, the fear of finished the next book, story, poem lingered with them. The self-imposed fear of disappointing readers, family, and friends gave them pause. For many of them, this seems to be why they wrote their memoirs. To remind us to not give up, to stir up our cowering passions.

    Taking a break, hitting a slump, writing what we think is garbage – those are not failures. They are the unfortunate stepping stones to becoming greater. To becoming more than what we started as. No matter what happens with your writing, you haven’t failed. You are simply evolving, growing, and finding your voice. The day you fail is the day you never write another word, and let’s face it, you still have stories to tell and words to share.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

