The Writer’s Library

First, I want to apologize for the lack of updates. I recently found myself in a funk, and I didn’t want to write anything, not even my blog. However, I’ve been reading a new book I bought that inspired me to write again.

This morning I wanted to read some books on writing. As I was scrolling through Amazon’s How to Books for writers, I started thinking about a Writer’s Library.

I don’t have an exact definition, but to me, a Writer’s Library is reference books. For example, The Elements of Style by William Strunk, Stephen King’s Book on Writing, and The Emotion Thesaurus. I have all of these books in my Writer’s Library and so much more.

Usually, when I’m stuck on a grammar question or just need another word for something, I will consult one of my reference guides. One of the books I use often is Thinking Like a Romance Writer. Since I write romance, this book has been handy regarding vocabulary and description. So if you don’t have a library of books on hand, I suggest building up a collection. Of course, Google is always there for us writers, but it does help to have a professional writer’s advice on certain topics.

My Writer’s Library consists of:

Thinking Like a Romance Writer by Dahlia Evans

The Only Grammar Book You’ll Ever Need by Susan Thurman

On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft by Stephen King

The Emotion Thesaurus by Angela Ackerman & Becca Puglist

Write Great Fiction Series – Plot & Structure

500 Ways to be a Better Writer by Chuck Wending

Strong Engineering Mastering the 6 Core Competencies of Successful Writing by Larry Books

The Elements of Style by William Strunk

Most of these books I have finished reading, while others I’m still working on. Regardless, each book has taught me something new about writing.

Tell me about the books in your Writer’s Library. Have they helped you to become a better writer?

5 thoughts on “The Writer’s Library

  1. All great books to have on hand!!! Don’t forget to update some of them, as the rules change. For instance my Chicago Manual of Style was very against internet sources for books etc in 2000-2004 while I was in college but the one I bought my sister-in-law when she entered college a scant five years later told you explicitly HOW to use the internet in an acceptable manner. Things change, mutate and evolve and we gotta stay ahead of the curve.

    Like

  2. Thanks for sharing this list! It’s always interesting to see how different books impact people. I see some old friends (books) on your list and a few unexpected ones I need to check out. Now off I go to Amazon!

    Like

Leave a Reply

