Expanding Your Craft

Often, a lot of readers will ask me for writing advice. I usually give the advice I learned in my writing classes. The topic of today’s post is about expanding your craft. In my last post, I mentioned that you should never stop learning. In life, society helps us believe that after high school or college, you are done learning.

If you don’t go to college, you can get a job and work full time. If you are done with college, you get a job and work full time. Well, honestly, after doing the full-time work thing, I can say there is a lot more to life than working at a job five days a week. The question then becomes, what should you do next?

25-wise-inspiring-steve-job-quotes-thatll-make-you-want-to-change-the-world-14-638

It took me a while to realize there is more to life than just working. Like with writing, you need to find your own path in life. With whatever you want to do, especially writing, you need to keep learning. If you are still in college, and can afford it, I advise signing up for writing classes. Take advantage of the time you have now to build up your skills. If you are done with college and working full time or part time, then take a class at your local community college.

student-walking-college

In this day and age of technology, online courses are a dime a dozen. If you want to get better with your grammar, take a grammar refresher course. Of course, there are plenty of free articles and videos online. However, having structured instructions and homework helps ingrain knowledge into our brains.

By taking a class, you can even network with your classmates and the teacher later down the road. Every opportunity to meet a fellow writer has a possibility to lead to something else.

I know {http://www.ed2go.com/writing-publishing-online-courses} has cheap online writing classes taught by professionals in the field.

Even if you don’t find a program in your local area, you can search for programs offered by out-of-state colleges. Yes, this is the day and age of information, and I feel we should take advantage of it. Like with social media options, you have a choice on which classes you can take. job-searching

Don’t be scared to step out of your comfort zone to learn. Remember knowledge is power, and life awards those who are willing to put in the work.

Soon I will be starting my next program to get my Certificate in Creative Writing. The program has three required courses in reading, writing, and a writing workshop. After that, you can choose which electives you want to do. My goal is to get an A in every single class. Ultimately, I’m hoping to become a better writer, network, and expand my craft

Until next time, have a great rest of your weekend and keep on learning! =)

3 thoughts on “Expanding Your Craft

    • Thanks so much! I figured it would be good to write about taking classes to improve your skills. I feel like a lot people don’t think about all the resources out there for writers. Don’t get me wrong, the internet is great, but sometimes it’s nice to be taught by a trained professional. Thanks again for stopping by!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

