Making Changes

93EDC851A3

After a lot of thinking, I’ve decided I’m ready to make changes to my blog. Therefore, I will be changing things around this weekend. Also, I may or may not be removing Clash of Tides and Love for an Angel from my WordPress site. Basically, no one reads the stories here that much, so I don’t feel like they’ll be missed. Instead of keeping the stories posted online and updating every month, I can finish them offline. Frankly, I’ve been writing the stories online for over a year now, and the reads are rarely climbing.

In addition, I’m ready to change the look and feel of my WordPress site. I want to update the content and improve the overall feel of the blog. If I don’t respond to you or leave a comment on your blog post, then don’t worry, I’ll be back.

Update: Clash of Tides and Love for an Angel have been removed from the homepage. If I decide to add them back, I will do it this weekend. 

27 thoughts on “Making Changes

      • One thing I noticed, though. When I first started my site in September 2014, I was picture heavy, and eventually had banners and flashy scrolling headers that showcased my books. When I released my first book, I moved my site to self host and I lost everything. Every follower. When I finally came back almost a year ago, I went to the basics. I barely mention my books now, and I only add photos to the longer posts or those rare book-related posts. Having everything stripped to the bare minimum I thought would mean no one would see my work. I was wrong. My downloads went up. People were curious and went searching for my books. Without really saying much about my books, they’re downloading at a decent rate every day. My blog continues to grow.

        I’m not trying to make you feel bad or inadequate. But maybe think about letting your words and your knowledge speak for themselves and then maybe people will be curious about what you have to offer.

        Liked by 3 people

      • Thanks for the advice. For my new blog, I won’t be having a lot of promotion for my stories. Honestly, I don’t care about posting my stories online anymore. I spent so much time trying to gather readers and build interest, but it didn’t do much, so I’m done. I plan to revamp the blog and give it a new look that breaks away from my stories. I don’t have time nor want to care anymore.

        I hope that doesn’t sound harsh or mean, but it’s just my feelings at the moment. I’m even pulling the stories down from other websites, too. Going forward, if people are interested in my books, I won’t be mentioning them any longer. However, thanks for the advice though^^

        Liked by 1 person

      • I’m sorry to hear that. I know how much it hurts to feel like your work isn’t appreciated. Please don’t let it stop you from finishing them.

        I know it’s not much consolation, but drawing in readers with something else will attract them naturally to what you have available to them. It’s only good for thought.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks, and it’s ok. I’m not going to worry about it anymore. Now I can write the stories without worrying about updates and deadlines. If people really cared, they would have spoke up.

        Ah, well. Going forward, my blog will focus more on short stories and poems. I won’t be talking about my stories anymore or making teasers.

        Like

  1. Once they are down, and you take your break from posting/writing them, you might fall in love with it all over again! Either way, don’t quit your writing dream…. you’ll regret it in the end. As for reorganizing your blog, not a bad thing to do anyway….. things change so you’ve gotta stay current. Like Lorraine says, less is more with the self advertising anyway but certainly having a side link to them once you publish them wouldn’t hurt.

    Like

  2. I’m really sorry to hear you’re taking them down 😦 I’ve been wanting to finish reading them, but have just been busy. Please let us know when you publish them!! I would like to buy them myself. Best of luck and I can’t wait to see the changes 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Like most people who have already commented, I’m sorry to hear you’re thinking of taking your stories down. I’ll admit that I haven’t had time to read them, mostly because I stretch my time too thin between the book clubs I’m part of on Wattpad. I’m starting to think I should scale back on those to leave myself more time to reach the things I actually want to read as opposed to the things I’m being told to read. If you don’t plan on taking them down right away, I’ll try to carve the time this long weekend to get all caught up! 😀

    Whatever you end up doing though, I wish you the best of luck!

    Like

Leave a Reply

