The Writer’s Library part 2

Writers Libaray.jpg

In the past, I’ve talked about the Writer’s Library. Today, I was on my Safari book app when I found the book, “Your Writing Coach 2nd Edition.”

As I was reading it, this paragraph really spoke to me:

If your pattern is stopping partway through your project, perhaps you are measuring what you’ve written against the pristine, perfect vision of it that you had at the start. For example, maybe you wanted to write a book that would illuminate the thoughts and feelings of a woman who is abandoned by her husband and left to raise their handicapped child alone. Halfway through, you read what you’ve written so far and realize the characters aren’t as alive as you’d hoped they would be, or the plot has some holes in it, or your prose isn’t as vibrant as you imagined. At this point, it’s easy to give up-why carry on when clearly you’re not fulling your own vision?

Sometimes at this stage a new idea occurs to you, a new story that is, as yet, perfect. So you put aside the half-finished draft ad start writing the new story…until, halfway through that one, the same thing happens. After a few instances of this, it’s easy to come to the conclusion that you are wasting your time with this writing business and give up.

In less than one whole chapter, this book captured my thinking for the past few years. I abandon projects when I feel they aren’t getting me anywhere. However, perhaps I didn’t give my babies a chance to grow and learn. If you are a new writer or a writer that doesn’t feel your projects are up to par, then I advise getting this book.

It’s called:

Your Writing Coach
From Concept to Character
From Pitch to Publication
By Jurgen Wolff

Once I finish the book, I may write a thorough review, but for now, I’m enjoying the words of encouragement. Writing is a lonely business, but when you find or read about others who are going through the same struggles as you, it helps to inspire us.

Honestly, Clash of Tides and Love for an Angel aren’t up to par with what I hoped for, but I still have a chance to make the stories better.

19 thoughts on “The Writer’s Library part 2

  1. Plot bunnies happen. And at the beginning of your draft you write with a writer high. But the further you very into it, and around the midpoint you hit your lowest. You doubt your abilities — this is the low. This is often when you lose interest. But you have to push through and ignore those nagging thoughts that you’ve failed. The first draft always sucks. Don’t forget that.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That’s the biggest killer is looking back at what you’ve written and thinking, “Good God! This isn’t what I imagined it’d be at all!” That’s the point when I think, “Screw it, I’ll try something else.” But it’s so important to follow through and see it to completion. If anything, it’s a learning experience and a good exercise in discipline. Who knows? You might love the finished product.

    Liked by 2 people

      • Too right. It’s a bit like being in a relationship and hitting that moment of doubt, do I advance or retreat? Sometimes it’s better to call it quits and start over, but I’m too stubborn to admit defeat. The best mantra to live by as a writer is, “Damn the torpedoes, full speed ahead!”

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I also have issues with abandoning projects when I feel they are not quite up to par. I just created a personal goal last week to finish some of my unfinished projects. I will definitely be reading that book. Thanks for sharing!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

