What happens when you meet a writer in a public?

The moment of connection…

You, “I write stories.”

Them, “Me too!”

Connection.gif

The book talk…

You, “I like that book!”

Them, “Have you read this series?!”

Book Talk.gif

Brainstorming together…

You, “I have this idea.”

Them, “Have you tried expanding on this?”

Writing Together.gif

The people around you…

akward

Comparing your writing to theirs…

You, “Here’s some of my newest works!”

Them, “Here’s mine!”

Thoughts while you read their stories: 

suck.gif

Yes, I have experienced this before, especially the “I kinda suck” thought. Well, I hope you enjoyed today’s blog post and it made you laugh. A lot of people liked the sketch of Elena yesterday, so I’m glad. I can’t believe over 330 people are following this blog now. I don’t know why people are following me, but thanks!

(Credit: all gifs are from http://giphy.com.)
50 thoughts on “What happens when you meet a writer in a public?

  1. I have that ‘I kinda suck’ slump right now, as I write my story and I’m trying to push myself through it because I love writing.
    And I have never met someone in public who loves writing or reading as much as I do 😦 still waiting for that moment :p

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Here’s one of my talks:

    You, “I write stories.”
    Them, “Me too!”

    You, “I like that book!”
    Them, “Have you read this series?!”

    You, “Here’s some of my newest works!”
    Them, “Here’s mine!”

    You, “This is so cool.”
    Them, “Yeah, but I’m not serious anymore. I did nanowrimo a couple of times but I don’t want to get published or anything.”

    Conversation turns dead…

    Sometimes, it totally sucks.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I’ve also felt this way, recently even ^^ Except my experience had a bit of a downer ending: me and said write were super enthusiastic about a contest we were both participating in, yet when I told him about another contest, and wanted to write together again, he went “I actually don’t like writing much.”
    Heartbroken, that’s what I felt I believe. But it was an amazing feeling at first!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

