Marketing Marketing Marketing!!!

If you haven’t noticed, today I’m going to discuss marketing! For those of you following my blog, then you know I’ve been trying to learn more about marketing.

Today, as I was on the train, I finally got to the marketing section of the “Your Writing Coach” book I’ve been reading. Since I enjoyed and found what I read helpful, I thought it would make a great blog post.

However, before we begin, I would like to say thanks to everyone who commented on my last blog post. Reading everyone’s thoughts was most interesting, especially the ones who pointed out why the internet wasn’t to blame for bad writing. If you want to continue or join the discussion about bad writing online, here is a link to the post {Does the Internet Create Bad Writers?}. This blog is a place to have conversations about writing, so feel free to add your opinion ^__^

Now, when you think of marketing, do you feel like this?

icant

Or this?

purpose

And yes, I’m continuing the Thor theme because I love the movies. Now, if you are the, “I can’t” then I know how you feel. I used to feel the same way, too, but if we want people to read our stories, then we need to market ourselves. Go from I can’t to I can.

  • The Likability Factor 

This point is simple and asks the question, “Do your readers like you?” The thought behind this is very evident. If we want readers to our read our work, then we also need to take an interest in them. One reason popular writers irk me is that they forget this. Generally, they’ll stop responding to readers, or just flat out grow elevated egos. Readers are more likely to keep reading your work and telling others about you if you treat them with respect and kindness. Think, treat others like you want to be treated. In the book, they used an example of a doctor’s office. If a doctor is warm and friendly, taking an interest in you, you’ll have a better experience. Even when I took down my stories, if a reader messaged me, I would always respond to them. Not only would I respond to them, but I would also thank them and send them the link for the chapters. If a reader takes the time to message you, appreciate them.

  •   Do Something Different

When you think about your book, or marketing your book, try to think outside the box. What is it about your book that stands out? What is it that you bring new to your genre? For me, I feel different because:

  1. My story has a black female protagonist
  2. My story has an undersea world
  3. The mermen and mermaid society

It may not be much, but it’s how I’ve grown my readership. You want your work to stand out, not follow the crowd. For example, if I hear about another dystopia novel, I’m going to scream.

  • Show a Sample 

This one is pretty standard. It’s post a sample of your book. However, before doing that, pull your readers in with other works. Write some short stories, poems, or post some artwork of your world and characters. Do what you can to get readers excited, and to see what you have to offer. With Clash of Tides, I increased interest by getting images of my characters done. Before I posted a picture of Assan, I barely got any readers.

Please remember, all these tips come from,

“Your Writing Coach
From Concept to Character, from Pitch to Publication
by Jurgen Wolff.”

Lastly, I will say that connecting with other writers and readers is a key to marketing. At least for me, it has been. If you are shy and are a writer with a goal in mind to publish, you may want to branch out a bit. Marketing your work is about talking and meeting people, so starting online is a perfect place to practice!

Until next time!

(gifs are from http://giphy.com/search/gify)

24 thoughts on “Marketing Marketing Marketing!!!

  1. Ugh, I don’t like marketing. It’s stressful work to have to sell myself to the public just so someone would read or buy my work. I wish marketing can be as easy as blogging. I hardly market myself here. I just follow those who follows me and that’s it. I’m worried now of how it will turn when I’m ready to publish.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Marketing is an inevitable part of the job. My local writing group hosted a photo shoot, with a photographer, makeup and hair stylists. They were all professional and easy to work with, but I HATE having my picture taking. I think it’s part of the package, though, along with interacting with readers, they like to actually /see/ the person behind the stories.

    Reviews are an exception. I don’t like it when writers respond to reviews, even positive ones. That’s uncomfortable. Reviews are for the readers, and they are (or they really should be) about the BOOK. If it were a review of me personally, I could see responding. But I am not my book, even if I created it.
    Goodness. How did I get up on this soapbox? I think I’ll climb down now.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Right now, I’m not busy thinking about marketing at all, since I’m really in the beginning fase of writing, and I’m only writing right now to improve myself. But I know that marketing is something you have to do once you are ready to publish a book, and I think that marketing might be the hardest part of publishing for me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Honestly, I feel like marketing is the hardest part, too. I’m not ready to publish just yet, but by next year, I’ll be there. The more I read these marketing books, the scarier it sounds O_O Thanks for stopping by and reading =)

      Liked by 1 person

  4. The wife and I really love this blog and appreciate the creativity and useful information you provide. If you decide to take this blog to the next level by offering a Mobile App version my company Zenlight could provide service for an extremely low price, we appreciate the hard work you have put into this blog and wish you all future success in business and in life.

    Thank you for your time, it is the most precious thing we all possess.
    -Jacque’

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I love your observations about how to market your writing, and the likeability factor is such a huge issue. When I talk to many marketers, they are so focused on the Google factor, or the Facebook factor or whatnot that they forget there are actual, real people who want their product, service, or in your case, book.
    Keep up the good work!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

