Change of Tides -1

I love my home, I always have. The beauty of the sea leaves me in awe every time I swim through a coral reef or follow along with a school of fish. However, life for me will change soon. I am going to be a slave to royalty, passing off my words of wisdom to the young heir.

My mother and father looked at the world with different eyes, drawing assessments beyond their years. As I grew older, it was evident I had inherited their keen sense of knowledge. 

My freedom is coming to end, and before it does, I want to enjoy my time here. I am serene, in the sea, alone.

Propelling myself forward, I angle my body, dodging the rocks jutting out from the undersea mountain. Until they find me, I will swim where I please. Flapping my tail, I move quicker, diving deeper into my liquid abode. For a mer, the ocean depths is our world. To protect my home, I will be his advisor. One day the prince will be King, and I will help with his judgments. After today, my name will be Hass, and I will serve Assan, the future lord of the seas. 

~ 200 words

This is part of my new Change of Tides series. And, if you didn’t notice, these are stories connected to Clash of Tides. Since I’ve brought the story back, I thought some readers might enjoy this.

All of these will be 200 words, flash fiction. Today’s character was Hass, Assan’s advisor. This gives a little bit of background on how he felt about being stuck with Assan. I hope you liked it!

14 thoughts on “Change of Tides -1

    • Ah! I’m so happy you liked it!

      I feel like Hass is that random character readers want to know more about, so I thought posting this would be fun. I’m so glad you want to see more from the series^^

      Thanks for commenting!!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! I’m glad you enjoyed it ^__^

      Aww, that is so sweet of you. Hmm, to answer your question, it’s because most readers don’t seem to like my writing. I barely get readers on my work, so that’s why I feel my writing is bad.

      Liked by 2 people

      • I don’t get a ton in comparison to many others. I just appreciate those I do get. It is like being in a private room with just you and the kind souls that read what you write. Almost like a limited show if you are a musician.

        What I mean is, it’s more personal and much easier to keep up with people. I like that personal connection with readers and while it is always awesome to have more of them, it is much harder to connect with them when there are a ton. Xp

        Keep at it, someday you may find, it all pays off. I definitely see where you are coming from, I just hope you realize there are souls out there that do appreciate your writing. 🙂

        Liked by 2 people

      • I get what you mean 🙂 I’ll just have to wait and see what happens. At this point, there is not point in me feeling depressed over it anymore. It is what it is. Like you said, maybe one day it will pay off :/

        Liked by 2 people

    • Thanks for checking it out! I plan to expand on Assan’s and Hass’s relationship later on in the books. Lol, as you can tell from this short story, Hass wasn’t too happy about being in Assan’s service. Compared to other mermen, Assan is still consider “young” and he is stubborn. Poor Hass xD

      Like

Leave a Reply

