What Does Your Writing Say About You?

writing-say-about-you

(image is not mine, I just added the text)

Before I begin today’s blog post, I want to let everyone know I updated Love for an Angel! Here is the link! Chapter 15: Discovers It took me forever to update that story. Honestly, I hit a wall with it. However, I did take some time to plot, and I got the storyline back where I wanted it.

I also want to thank everyone who commented on 9/Nine Realms. I never expected to get such nice comments.

Today I want to discuss what your writing says about you. For most writers, writing is an expression of self – of crafting our secret desires and thoughts into words.

Some of us wonder what genres we should explore, while others already know what calls to them. For me, I always knew romance, paranormal, fantasy, and horror would be my genres. I loved being away from reality (I still do), in worlds where humans could control the elements and speak with animals. Not only that, but I was also fascinated by angels and demons. And of course, I always wanted a boyfriend :p

In the course of my life, those interests and wishes turned into writing. In high school, I wrote a horrible story about a girl taken by three angels. However, it did combine the genres I enjoyed. There was romance, paranormal elements, horror with Lucifer, and a dash of fantasy. Next time your writing, ask yourself how you got here. What made you pick the genre you write?

And also, is a genre the only way we put ourselves in the stories? No, it’s not.

In Stephen King’s book on writing, he said:

Certainly parts of him are . . . . but I think you will find that, if you continue to write fiction, every character you create is partly you. When you ask yourself what a certain character will do given a certain set of circumstances, you’re making the decision based on what you yourself would (or, in the case of a bad guy, wouldn’t) do.

There is so much truth in these words. Like King said, “Every character you create is partly you.”

Right now, I have two characters who are partly me:

Elena (Clash of Tides) – Is the me who wanted to get away from my controlling mother. Yes, in real life I have controlling mother who always wants me to do what she wants.

Lana (Love for an Angel) –  Is the me who wants to be accepted for who I am. A lot of times, I feel rejected, so Lana reflects that aspect of me.

I combined those characters with my love of paranormal, fantasy, romance, and horror.

Now since you know what my writing says about me, what does your writing say about you?

Please share your thoughts!

16 thoughts on “What Does Your Writing Say About You?

  1. I liked the inclusion of the Stephen King quote, and it’s definitely true. I think a good writer has to be a good liar, you have to convince people for 100, 200, 300, 1,000(?!) pages that this story is true and the characters in it are made of flesh and bone and muscle, not ink and ideas. In all honesty, I’m not sure what my writing says about me. Considering my novel, maybe each character represents a different part of myself? Emotional vs. rational? Spot on with the idea behind the post: your writing says something about you, even if you’re not aware of what it is.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! I was hoping the Stephen King quote would add motivation for people^^ Yes! You do have to convince people for a long time these characters are real and feel emotion. I’m sure if you look deep enough, you’ll find some of your characters have your traits.

      Like

  2. Personally, I find I’m a bit out of the ordinary (aren’t we all though). Sometimes I see posts like ‘If you’re stuck just write about your own experiences.” Meanwhile I’m here like “That would be one boring, repetitive book…”
    Personally I mostly write stories that are fantasy, because I like the fact that it isn’t anything I’ve experienced, but I’d like to. The amazing worlds, quirky characters and adventure galore.
    My characters do have depth though, mostly emotional from their personal experiences and troubles.
    The Street Urchin has experiences such as loss, facing reality and being yourself.
    Shifting Sands deals with strained family relations and forgiveness
    My others are mostly friendship and adventure. I find that most of my stories have either family problems or they’ve lost their parents, and personally my parents and family all get along great.
    So to sum it up I’m pretty weird and most of my writing is just dreams and my imagination. (Also I add a touch of romance, because, hey, I’m a girl and want a nice bloke myself. 😀 )

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Ooh, interesting post and interesting question! I think a number of my stories reveal my aromanticism. There is romance, but usually in the form of a strong friendship or even a cynical alliance. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Well, let’s see.

    Deity’s Soulmate – is my way of exploration of creation of life and trying to show readers how I would think gods would be or at least that it’s not that easy creating something even if you are an immortal. Just makes more sense to me.

    Seven Hours – Having been disabled myself for a short period of time, I wanted to learn more about a not so hidden disability of sight. I wanted to explore people’s reactions to disability and how one would start seeing the world if it was possible. When I was disabled, people didn’t believe me. Their logic was that I was young and I was just using my disability to get a good seat on the bus or that I was out of shape. It hurt and it really was annoying because one normally doesn’t question disabilities. Now, blindness, people see white canes, dogs, and dark glasses. They are more aware of those disabled individuals, and yet still end up saying or doing the wrong things.

    Into the Flames – Considering the way the story had started, it wasn’t really anything about myself. However, I feel like I went through a lot of transformations over the years and I really want to show how a girl can transform into a leader. Some of the hobbies that Omari has are my own so that’s a part of me.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Great post! I find that, especially from my earlier novels, my main characters all tend to be very reserved and hold themselves somewhat aloof, observing rather than participating (which is something of a problem since characters are supposed to be more active). Like me. I’ve moved away from that somewhat, but I find that my POV characters still spend at least part of the time being reserved and withdrawn (but now it’s usually because they’re tired or afraid, some reason other than basic personality trait).

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! I’m happy you liked my blog post =) It’s always interesting to see what our characters are like and how they’ve grown with us. Hmm, do you think you are a quiet and reserved person in real life?

      Like

  6. My writing says that I’m a bit of a philosopher and a lot of an escapist. I’ve always had complaints about this world, and, along with it, a lot of what ifs. I think this is reflected in the worlds I create. There’s almost always something sinister cooked up by humanity, but there isn’t anyone to blame. That’s how I see the world. There are many faults, but no one is at fault. Probably contradictory to my view of the world, I somehow always try to see the best in people. This aspect is something that a lot of my main characters embody – Elise (The Expiry), Stian (The Gladiolus Order) and Catarina (Twice). It’s pretty interesting when you try to find bits of yourself in your writing.

    Also, I’m thinking of posting my stories up on here. Any tips on how to do it? (I pretty much know nothing about WordPress)

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I don’t know if i start out intending to do this but i end up putting a lot of things about me in my main characters. My serial novel Orchard House is infused with so much me i almost gave the character my name lol.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

