Challenge Yourself (For Writers)

First, I want to apologize to everyone who I haven’t responded to yet. I’ve recently taken on a new writing challenge, and it’s keeping me busy.

Ok, so today I want to discuss challenging yourself. As I previously mentioned, I took on a new writing challenge. You are probably wondering what I am talking about. Well, the challenge is for me to write 1500 words a day. Yep, you read that correctly, 1500 words! I’m doing this to gauge how fast I write, and to force myself to write every day. In the past, I’ve tried to write 500 words a day, but I’ve found 1500 words is more challenging. Mainly, I’m writing a chapter a day. To make things easier, though, it’s mostly free writing. I also have a confession to make. When I was writing a blog post every day, I counted that towards my 500 words. However, my posts are more non-fiction writing, and I felt that was affecting my writing skills. I was learning how to write articles more than stories. Therefore, I wanted to cut back on non-fiction and get back into fiction writing. Have you ever tried challenging yourself? (NaNoWriMo counts)

For example, if you are bad at descriptions, you can challenge yourself to write one descriptive paragraph a day (I did that in the past).

Are you going to challenge yourself? And if you are, what are you going to do?

giphy (6).gif

9 thoughts on “Challenge Yourself (For Writers)

    • Yes! Write now, the writing 1500 words a day is kicking my butt, and it really shouldn’t be =( I’m writing a story about a Yandere guy that is going to fall for the main character and obsessed over her. He may even kill the other guy who likes her.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Love this idea. I want to do that too but find it hard to find the time. But one year when I was really into Nanowrimo my goal was 1,500 words a day and I managed to squeeze in enough time every day to get it done. I also like your idea of focusing on writing 1,500 description every day, that’s definitely my weak spot.

    Like

  2. I will be doing NaNoWriMo for the first time this year, and I am wondering how that will turn out. And I will be challenging myself once the amount of work I have to do for school and internship has calmed down a bit, so I don’t feel guilty or stressed once I make time to write. So at the moment I am not challenging myself with daily writing goals.

    Like

Leave a Reply

