Managing Multiple Social Media Sites (For writers)

Social Media1.jpg

If you are a writer, especially a writer who is trying to get noticed, then you know the importance of Social Media. Yes, Social Media is a tool for sharing your stories with the world, connecting with your readers, and creating a name for yourself.

However, there is one major problem with social media that I feel writers face. I know it’s a big issue for me. The issue is – there are so many options!

Yes, with the ever growing internet and numerous websites, one has to wonder which sites work best for them. From what I’ve learned, it all depends on your goals. For example,

Deviantart – It’s one of the best websites for artist

Scribophile – For story reviews

WordPress – It’s good if you want to write articles and post flash fiction.

On all three of these sites, you can post your stories. However, certain websites have a different focus. Then you have to ask yourself, “Which website works best for me?”

Honestly, it’s hard to know what website will work at first, and most of the time you have to do a test run. When I first started out on WordPress, it was just a test. I never expected to get almost 500 followers. It wasn’t my goal to get followers here, and I was just blogging for fun.

Now since I’ve done well here, I want to keep writing content for everyone. Remember, if you don’t do well on a website, don’t get discouraged. You won’t do well on every social media site you’re on. My only advice is to find a site that works for you and keep growing followers there.

Once you have a main base of operation, bring your followers from one site to another. That’s what I did with my Wattpad, Fanfiction.net, and FictionPress. However, I do still post some stories on Wattpad. Why you ask? Because even though I hate that website, I do have some wonderful readers there. It may not be many, but the readers I have always comment on my work and support me.

If you find you don’t have time to manage all your sites, well then, make time! I’m not trying to be harsh or mean, but social media is a monster that craves attention. It wants to chew on new and meaningful content every day. If that monster decides to message you or comment on your work, then you better respond.

For me, I try to dedicate an hour every day to every social media site I’m on. For example, WordPress gets an hour of my day for reading blog posts and commenting. That’s on top of work, schoolwork, reading, and writing.

When managing your social media, you want to remember the following:

  • Dedicate time every day to your sites
  • Post new and meaningful content
  • Decide what your end goal is. If you want to write YA books, then consider a site like Wattpad.
  • If you post stories, try to post only complete work or stories you can often update (I’m bad with this one, trust me)
  • Respond to your readers and messages

That’s all from me today. I hope this was helpful – ^__^

How do you manage all your social media sites?

13 thoughts on “Managing Multiple Social Media Sites (For writers)

  1. Despite being born in 1993, I am nostalgic for the days of the old writers, when writers only had to respond to letters and put out content to maintain their presence. However, that’s not reality anymore, and we writers must accept this! This advice is not only relevant, but encouraged. I have my gripes with social media, but it’s good for beginning writers.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I agree with you about that. I do miss the old days when things were simpler, but like you said, it’s not the reality anymore. Thanks! I’m glad you liked my advice. There are so many options for social media sites now; it can get overwhelming.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I was just talking with a professor today about how JD Salinger probably would have had a harder time being successful today by being such a hermit. I think the expectation now for any kind of artist is to be very public and engaged with your following. On the one hand it doesn’t seem terrible to do that for a loyal audience, but on the other hand it could be time spent working on material. I suppose it’s just a balancing act.

        There are, and I think the best thing you can do is pick a few (in my case Facebook, Twitter, and here) and really establish and maintain a presence on them. Otherwise you’ll either wind up neglecting a community, or spending all of your time maintaining that presence.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I find it to be really hard to update my story by an schedule, because there are people who are reading my story online. I don’t want to disappoint them and I want to give them new content, but I just don’t have the time because writing isn’t my main priority at the moment. So I am taking a break so I can write my story offline and when I feel I can live up to the standard/expectation, I will start updating again.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Honestly, that’s a great idea! I have two books I’m posting up right now, and I don’t have a steady schedule for either of them. In hindsight, I should have waited until I was done writing the books before I posted them.

      Also, don’t ever bad for not meeting the expectation =) Somedays, I get too lazy to come on WordPress 😛

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I understand where you’re coming from Bradley. Having too much social sites can be a lot of work, so you want to try and centralize them. This makes communication with them much more simpler and less hassle for you. And I agree with the points as well. When I used to write, I never finished the first chapter never mind finishing the whole thing. I always start a new story midway through the current one xDD.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! Yes! It’s so much work, and it becomes overwhelming! I even have days where I want to stay away from WordPress. I feel your pain over writing and finishing a story. If I didn’t have the burning desire to publish so badly, I’m sure I would have stopped midway through writing my stories, too.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Yeah, you’d expect having so many options to be a good things, but it can often be a curse. It’s far too difficult to keep track of it all sometimes. But hey, the struggle is worth it. That’s why I’m here, after all.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I personally have Twitter and WordPress. I think if I had any more I’d end up never posting anything because I’d get distracted. While as a writer you make your own posts it’s also very social sort of community. I guess you could just focus on your own writing and never connect, but I find part of the fun is in sharing with others (as long as you don’t get distracted from your own goals). With a job, life commitments and family sometimes it is hard to make the time though.
    Nice post, makes a person think. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: Let’s Talk: Schedules | Tales Of Ryllia

  7. Well, I mostly use WordPress or Goodreads, both for posting up reviews and looking for new books. As for posting new works, I can agree with it that it’s hard to maintain a regular schedule if the book isn’t completed. But for me, I guess writing as I go allows me to listen, and sometimes even spread out my book quite a little depending on feedback received, and gives me a chance to implement improvements. And I’m mostly a lazy person so deadlines just spur me to write, otherwise I can get distracted with the internet itself

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

