Tips: How to Grow Your Blog

Yesterday, I reached another milestone – 500 followers. Honestly, my goal was never to get a lot of followers here. I just wanted a place to express myself and talk about writing. After leaving another writing website, I was depressed, feeling defeated and alone (still do, but meh). I felt blogging could help me express the challenges with writing and encourage others to keep on going.

However, now since I’ve reached 500 followers, I believe it’s time to give back. Today, I want to share with you tips on how I grew my blog. I’m sure some of these you’ve read before, but it doesn’t hurt to see the tips again.

72350496.jpg

(created using memegenerator.net)

The tips are:

  • Post 1-2 times a day

Now, I know 1-2 times a day is a lot, but it’s a quick way of standing out amongst all the other blog posts. From what I’ve noticed, there are new posts every 5-10 minutes. It’s a lot, so if you want to stand out, you need to make sure readers can find you. When I first started on WordPress, I would post once in the morning and once in the afternoon. I don’t know why exactly, but it helped readers find my blog.

  •  Read other people’s blogs and comment

I can’t stress this enough! Read, comment, read, comment and read some more!!!! If you want people to find you, you need to show an interest in them too. The WordPress community – especially the writing community – is super friendly. If you comment on a fellow writer’s blog, more than likely they’ll respond to you and give you a follow back. However, you should read and comment on blogs you are interested in. Don’t just follow anyone hoping to get a follow back. If you don’t share a mutual interest in the content, you may lose that follower later.

  • Respond to comments on your post!

Please! Please respond back to people who comment on your blog. If someone takes the time to read your post and leave a lengthy comment, show them the same courtesy. This also goes back to showing an interest in your readers. I’ve unfollowed blogs because the writer never responded to me. When you respond to the comments, actually respond. Don’t leave a simple Thank you! or Thanks for checking out my blog! It’s best to leave a real response – to show you’ve read the person’s comment and understand what they meant.

  • Be yourself (Stand out from the rest) 

There is a lot of blogs on WordPress, and the best thing you can do is be yourself. A lot of people said they follow me because I have passion in my post – I keep things real. Well, I guess that’s just my personality. When it comes to the world of being a writer, I like to express the realities of how hard it is. However, I also like to make people laugh. The way I stood out in my blog is by having posts with gifs and funny stuff. Try to put more of yourself into your posts. That way, your personality will shine through your words.

Well, that’s all from me today. I hope you found this post helpful! Thanks for following me and helping me to reach this milestone. Remember, growing your blog will take time. If you don’t feel you’re growing fast enough, then message me. I would love to help!

 

86 thoughts on “Tips: How to Grow Your Blog

Leave a Reply

