Importance of Reading (For Writers)

reading

Before I begin, I want to apologize to everyone I haven’t responded to yet. I will reply to your comments. I’m a firm believer that despite how popular or well-known you become, you have to remember where you started from. I will respond to everybody ^__^

A lot of this advice you’ve probably read before, but I wanted to write a topic on the importance of reading.

Ok…

As writers, we write – simple, right? Well, if your only desire is to write a story, then yeah, it’s simple. However, if your goal is to write, publish, market, and improve your craft, then no, it’s not simple. Being a writer isn’t easy, and as writers, we need always need to develop our craft.

As I stated in my last post, I am passionate about my craft – to the point where I took it too far. I reflected on my actions and saw more of the monster I had become. One of my goals is to change that – to stop feeling like a failure and push forward. How does that play an importance with reading? Well, I’ll tell you. Writers need to READ and WRITE.

book-reading-addiction

(Taken from http://funnyand.com/book-reading-addiction)

Reading helps us learn different styles, ultimately helping us to find our own voice. The way one writer writes is different from another.

For example, Young Adult writers tend to have simple words and sentence structures. This is mostly due to their readers.

Adult fiction writers – depending on the level they want to write for, may have a more diverse style. Such as, Literary fiction. Literary fiction tends to be more serious, and it doesn’t focus on a fast-paced plot, while genre fiction does.

By reading, you expand your vocabulary, learn different ways to structure plots and develop your characters. I know reading has helped me in all these areas. I usually read all kinds of things – fiction, non-fiction, magazine articles, FAQ guides, and more. Like writing, reading should be another priority on our list. If you read just one genre, then you are hurting yourself. If you don’t enjoy Mystery – read it! If you don’t enjoy Horror – read it! Reading different genres will still teach you different styles.

In my book, Your Creative Writing Master Class pointed out that writer Raymond Chandler said:

The most durable thing in writing is style, and style is the most valuable investment a writer can make with his time. It pays off slowly, your agent will sneer at it, your publisher will misunderstand it, and it will take people you have never heard of to convince them by slow degrees that the writer who puts his individual mark on the way he writes will always pay off.

As you can see by the quote above, Raymond Chandler (a British-American novelist and screenwriter) emphasized the importance of style.

Also, another cool thing about style is you can always combine different genres later, thus forming more of your unique voice. Love for an Angel – my paranormal romance book – is a combination of paranormal, horror, and romance. I learned to mix those styles from reading different books. It may be hard, but it’s doable.

I hope today’s post taught you the importance of reading and developing your style.

So tell me, how did you develop your writing style and decide what genre to write about?

26 thoughts on “Importance of Reading (For Writers)

  1. Hey there, I learned a lot from your post.
    Well I love reading fiction, more in young adult and I wanna write more of that.
    People say I am good in narrative and story telling with deep emotions.
    Yet I am not able to know what genre really suits me. I have written more of romance as of now.
    I am just a beginner.
    Looking forward for more guidance.
    Thanks 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! I’m glad my posts have been helpful to you. Hmm, maybe trying finding in different genes and see which one you like more. If you like Young Adult and Romance, decide if you want to write reality-based romance or fantasy romance. Well, those were just some examples lol

      Thanks for reading and commenting!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Reading is super important to writing regardless of your ultimate goals with writing. I grew up reading a lot of different genres and I still do. However as far as influences go with things like horror.

    I started reading Goosebumps when I was little and of course lots of Stephen King. I also learned much from Poe. To me, regardless of genre though you can learn a ton about style and hone your own from reading just about anything!

    I am always looking for a story to truly speak to my soul. I don’t care if I find the story on a blog, in a book, or randomly elsewhere, there is nothing like having a story inspire and touch you on a very deep level.

    This can happen in any medium, but since we are talking books and reading, I remember the first time I read Lord Of The Rings and eventually went back and read The Hobbit.

    I felt like I’d lived a life time and those characters were very real to me. I felt sad when I finished reading all of the books. It’s nice when story and characters can touch you on that level.

    Great post! ^_^

    Liked by 1 person

    • Reading is important! I think everyone should read more, just because it also helps with diction and learning.

      You really can form your style from reading everything. Ugh, I know that feeling of finishing a book series. I get sad when I won’t be able to spend time with the characters again. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on reading. I also love reading your comments and learning more about you.

      I actually never read LOTR, but I did watch the movies. I want to read The Hobbit; it’s on my reading list.

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Liked by 1 person

      • No worries! I’m happy to converse over reading lol. ^_^

        I think reading is nice because it can transport you far away from everything. No worries, or any of that. A good book or story of any kind should be able to draw you into its world in my opinion.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. As of right now I am writing a fantasy/adventure story, but I found out that fantasy isn’t my genre to write in, even though I love reading fantasy. I will finish it, I want to finish it though. I find that most ideas for stories are in the contemporary genre, which is the genre I pick up the least, but I will be reading more contemporary in the future because I want to explore that genre as well. And I have a concept in the crime/mystery/paranormal direction, crime/mystery are genre I mostly grab for in adult novels.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I got into fanfiction by watching anime. I was big into Sailor Moon and started out writing that way. However, I have branched out from just fanfiction, though I do still write a majority of fanfiction now. I am currently working on a homosexual romance fiction which will be based in pre-War World II Berlin. I read a lot of history books. This is weird because I never found history interesting when I was in school, but WWII is my favorite history era and I hardly see much there. I think both fiction and nonfiction can inspire us writers and help develop us. 🙂 Another great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I enjoyed your post, as always. As an editor, it’s always interesting for me to see a writer’s style evolve over time.

    In the way of my own genre, I started writing a post-apocalyptic series because my mind lives there. It is also my area of “expertise.” This sounds sort of funny, but my college degree is in Homeland Security. All we did was study potential threats and how they could impact the United States. I was also in the military where I saw destruction on large scales. If I want to think of what a post-apocalyptic world would look like, all I have to do is think back to an event I witnessed and documented as a journalist or combat cameraman.

    So when my son was born and I became a stay-at-home dad, I needed a way to channel all of this random information. It is also somewhat therapeutic for me to write about these types of worlds as it helps me come to terms with events that were traumatic. Take the 2004 tsunami in Sumatra, Indonesia for instance. I was 19 when I documented that disaster. Some estimates had the death toll at around 250,000. I didn’t really ever get time to process events like those. I just did what I was supposed to do and took my pictures and recorded video. Focused on the job, and not on how it was affecting me.

    I feel like I’m not alone as I discover more and more of my veteran brothers and sisters who are writing stories, drawing, or exploring other creative mediums. For me, no amount of therapy could ever equal a well-written chapter. Thanks for writing this post today, I am always finding something enjoyable on your page.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! Sorry, it has taken me so long to respond to you. Oh, I can’t imagine all the things you must read.

      That’s so neat! It sounds like you are writing a subject you have a lot of knowledge about ^__^
      =( That’s sad to here, but I’m happy you’ve found writing has therapy. For me, writing is also the same way. It helps me get out all the feelings I keep on the inside. I think for a lot of writers, writing is their therapy. Writing is a lowly job, so all we have ourselves and our heads.

      You’re welcome! It makes me glad knowing you enjoy my post. I always try to write something encouraging for writers who come to my page.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks! And yes! I feel so bad when I can’t get back to everyone 😦 I always try to respond to every comment, but I know I missed some. You’ve done so well here! I’m sure you’ll be at 1000 followers soon. However, the most important thing is to have fun 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  6. For me, the genre has to be dictated by the chosen theme/situation – that comes first for me. So my first novel is about the relationship between two sisters, so it’s kind of womens literary fiction. But the other two I’m now working on are womens fiction (with more pace and action) and general fiction (male central character). I do as you suggested, Akaluv, I read outside my genres too, crime, horror, science fiction, mystery, historical..and it does indeed help you to refine your own style, through the preferences you find you have, and what you hate…and I think it makes you more confident about your own choices when you are actually in the middle of writing. To write you’ve got to read.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Great post. I too learn how to write from reading. Before I became a writer, i was a reader. Now I don’t always have as much time as I used to for reading , because I’m so busy writing, but when i have a break i go back and read all the stuff i missed. Thanks for this post!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I have always found that the writing style can have a larger influence on attracting an audience. A writer should know his audience and should mold the words accordingly. It is important to have writers who are more inclined towards simple and digestible English that can help young people to comprehend and encourage them to understand what is being told. I am doing a social campaign that is about asking the older generation especially the writers and avid readers to provide a sense of encouragement among teenagers for reading. I would love to have your support and words of wisdom. Check out my campaign here https://thereadingladder.wordpress.com/

    Like

  9. I’ve spent so much time writing these last few years I neglected to read. This week I decided to change that and ordered some nice thick books I’m looking forward to plowing through. Am already a third of the way through one of them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

