Why researching is important? (For Writers)

Research.jpg

giphy-14

I feel like I start off all my posts this way, but as usual, I’m sorry if I haven’t responded to you yet. A lot of you comment on my posts now, which I’m happy about it, but it does take me time to get back to everyone.

Alright, now since my apologies are done, it’s time to discuss today’s topic. So for today, we are going to review the importance of researching. I’m sure some of you are asking, “What does she mean by that?” Well, I mean research for your stories.

For example, if you’re writing a story about angels and demons, then it makes a story more realistic if you include elements from reality. It’s like that saying, “Write what you know.” So how does that apply to angels and demons? For my story, Love for an Angel, I researched the different names of angels and demons. Not only that, but I also reread my Bible for to get actual biblical events correct in the story. Sometimes I took beliefs from different Christian religions and mixed them together. The point is, it’s good to do research.

This doesn’t only apply to the subject of angels and demons; it could also apply to any subject your writing. You could be writing a book that takes place in ancient Egypt, and what would make the book better? Decent research.

When doing research, I like to follow these rules:

  • Make sure it’s factual, cited with different sources.

Don’t just go to one website and assume it’s correct. This is the internet. More than likely, the information may not be accurate. I generally like to go to official sites. For example, websites with .org at the end and historical society sites. Like you learned in college, you want to make sure the site looks good. No broken links, crappy images, and all sources have been credited, etc.

Your book is your baby, so make sure you write with arcuate facts and details

  • Don’t just use one source

I can’t stress this enough! Don’t just use the internet to research about your stories. Let’s say you are writing about a crew trapped in a submarine. Sure, you can go online and look up information about submarines, but you also have the option to read books and watch documentaries. You can take things further by interviewing people who have lived and worked on submarines too. My point is, expand your research. Don’t just use one source for more information. Personally, I think interviewing is one of the best places to get facts. A person actually lived the experience and can tell you firsthand what happened. When we write our stories, we are essentially providing that experience to our readers.

So, this post is getting long, and I don’t want to go over 500 words. However, I hope you found this post informative and helpful. The rule for writers is, “Write what you know,” but I’ve found even if you don’t know something, you can still learn about it and create an amazing story. After all, no one person can know everything =)

I also found a great article on writersdigest.com called How to Research a Novel: 7 Tips.

Discussion time: How do you do research for your stories? Please share your methods and ideas with the rest of us. Of course, only if you want to^^

Until next time:

giphy-15

(yeah…I just wanted to use this gif ^__^)

27 thoughts on “Why researching is important? (For Writers)

  1. I am working on my first novel, co- writing with my husband, and sometimes it feels like we are drowning in research! We each have a couple non-fiction books we are reading for our setting. I am also reading a book on historical swearing and a book on animals, which will be featured promenently. I am reading fiction books in the genre because I am not that familiar with it (Lovecraftian style horror/dark fantasy) as my husband chose the genre. Also watching shows and movies with the right feel or setting and looking up all sorts of random things on Google. It is fascinating stuff and I am enjoying it, but at the same time I wish I could plug in a matrix style plug into the back of my neck and download all the research I need so I can competently fill in the details in my writing already!

    Liked by 2 people

    • That’s so awesome you are writing a story with your husband!

      Hmm, it sounds like a hard genre to write in, but don’t give up, you can do it!

      Research can be boring sometimes, but we learn so much^^

      Thanks for commenting and stopping by :3

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I agree! It is important to inject a sense of realism into your writing, even if you are writing fiction! 🙂

    Using your example of angels and demons, I would like to say that I find it easier to immerse myself in a fantasy novel if the author uses names and references from real sources like the Bible or other religious texts. What do I mean by that?

    Okay, let’s say you are reading a novel about a war between angels and demons or whatnot, and this angel character named Abaddon appears and starts pulverizing demon soldiers with his giant warhammer or whatever. Then you go Google the name and wow! Abaddon is really the Angel of Destruction according to REAL religious texts! For real! The Abaddon I am reading about now is like kinda REAL! 🙂

    That’s why, whenever I meet newbie fantasy writers, I always advise them to do a lot of reading up.

    “Read all the mythological stories you can find. And all those Dungeons and Dragons guide books. You want an immersive storyverse? You gotta read before you write.”

    Sadly, manhy of them just want to write “good” fantasy stories without reading the Dungeons and Dragons guide books beforehand.

    Liked by 2 people

    • I totally agree with you about the angel example. It makes the story better when a writer uses the actual names of the angels and demons.

      That’s good advice! I tell new writers the same thing.

      So true, you do have to read before you write.

      Thanks so much for commenting and stopping by!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. It think you need to do research for every book you will be writing, even contemporary. For example, the story I will be writing for NaNoWriMo takes place in England, so I need to do research about England and the school system and places there. You just can’t avoid researching if you are writing a book.
    Great post by the way 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Research is very important. This is a very significant post for us writers. Your points are excellent. I will eventually write a book based on my experiences but do still feel that I need to do additional research on some of the emotional aspects and the effects of others involved in the psychology profession. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Research is really important, and I find that it’s super fun. Admittedly you have to have the initial interest in it otherwise… why are you even writing about it?
    At the same time, especially with fantasy writers, you can start your own version. Sometimes I want something different than the usual fairies and orcs and all that sort of thing.
    Dungeons and Dragons is a good base if you want new creatures or just a new base that is different from some fantasy genres. However as a player of the game also, people can actually create their own monsters and races, which they call ‘homebrew’.
    So while doing research is great, sometimes its good to come up original lore and lands and rules and creatures too. ❤

    Liked by 2 people

  6. I find memoirs particularly invaluable when it comes to research for my writing. If you can find a book written by a person who had a similar (if not identical) experience to something you’re writing about, it can be all the more inspirational. It also helps you get around the “write what you know” aspect. While you might not have that experience yourself, at least you have a better idea of what it’s like for a person in that situation after having read a first-hand account.

    Liked by 2 people

  7. It’s amazing what a big difference research can make on the overall quality of a story. If a work is well-researched, it shows.

    I’ve been slowly chipping away at my own research in preparation of NaNoWriMo next month. Not only do I know it will make my story stronger, but having it done in advance is going to come in really handy when I’m trying to meet my daily word counts!

    As far as methods of research go, obviously there’s always lots of reading that can be done (yay for the internet!) but I think there’s also a lot to be said for talking to people who know a thing or two about your subject matter. This is ESPECIALLY handy when you’re writing about experiences, groups of people, and cultures you don’t have personal experience with. As an example, I can’t even begin to tell you how many cringe-worthy stories I’ve read featuring LGBT+ characters that were written by writers who didn’t bother to do any research. Often these kinds of writers end up leaning on flimsy stereotypes and festishizing things in a way that can be really unrealistic, uncomfortable and/or hurtful to readers in the LGBT+ community. Research is a HUGE component of writing stories that are helpful, empathetic, and compassionate!

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Now don’t get me wrong, I think researching is a really good idea, but there is also something to be said for bullsh*ting your way through minor details lol I do this occasionally, informed guess work and the like and I haven’t gotten in any trouble. That was only for minor details though…

    Meno<3

    Liked by 2 people

  9. I was surprised how much even simple research helped stir ideas. One script I was working on was set on an oil platform so I looked up some blue prints, layouts, and a typical crew compliment. The maps gave some great ideas for scenes, and finding out some crew members (it’s standard to have a geologist on board) helped figure out some of the characters.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. This is so true, great post!
    I am constantly doing research for the book(s) that I’m working on. I like what you said about “Write what you know.” I practically live by that rule. If I either don’t know about something, or need to brush up on a few facts, I will do my research -whether it be from the internet, books, or both. I love doing research -people have looked at me strange for saying that, but oh well. ☺
    Also to add on to what you said about Angels and Demons, the same applies if there are any Mythological creatures/beings in a book that’s being written, or even historical events. If there’s a fictional historical even that takes place around the same time as an actual one, it’s important to do the research to make sure that the timeliness match up.
    There are times that I do research just to do it, which will then inspire new ideas, or add-ons of current ideas.
    I hope I’m not the only one that feels this way, but (lol) sometimes I feel like I should be able to give myself a Ph.D. in Occult Sciences because of all the research I’ve done on the topic. No… I am not claiming that I know everything about the subject, because I am always learning new things and expanding my knowledge so I can continue to incorporate it into my book(s).
    … lol… Paranormal Psychology (a.k.a.: Parapsychology) is next on the list… again. ☺
    Like I said before, awesome post; I love it! ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

