Catching up (For writers)

November 1st is here, which means, there are only two months left in the year. Time to me is a funny, and yet a scary thing.

Just yesterday, I remembered last New Years, and now this New Years is fast approaching. Last month, I blogged about how I wanted to focus on writing. Sadly, some things came up, and I didn’t finish the stories I wanted. However, instead of doing NaNoWriMo, I decided to do a catch-up month.

This month, my goal is to distance myself away from Social Media and work on my stories. Of course, I will still update my WordPress site. However, the longer I’m on the internet, the more I feel Social Media can suck our lives away. As writers, we need to build up our presence online, and to do that takes a lot of time. To me, social media is a beast who always craves more. It’s never satisfied – it needs new content every day, all day.

And while I don’t mind writing non-fiction articles on WordPress, I do miss writing fiction. Fiction writing is my passion. I want to get better at it, but it’s hard to improve my craft when I’me easily distracted with the internet. So today I have tips for how to break away from social media when writing. These can be applied to both general writing time and writing for NaNoWriMo.

  • Turn off your phone 

I know this one sounds strange, but I have a habit of picking up phone calls, checking text messages, KIK, Snapchat, etc. When I do that during writing time, I then find myself checking emails, going on websites and more. The best thing for me is turning off my phone and leaving it in the car. It’s a distraction that can pull us back into the dreaded, social media 😛

  • Put on music

Some people can write with music and some can’t. For me, good movie soundtracks and anime music puts me into the zone. Once I hear a good track, I can write for hours. I advise movie soundtrack music, instrumental music, or anime soundtracks. Anything that can calm you down and get those juices following.

  • Disconnect from WiFi

This one is standard. While you are working on your laptop, computer or tablet, turn off the WiFi. Just do it!

That’s all for today! Now…

giphy (27).gif

For our NaNoWriMoers

giphy (28).gif

Are you still catching up, or are you doing NaNoWriMo?

(Thanks to everyone who voted on my poll! It was helpful.)

29 thoughts on “Catching up (For writers)

  1. Off and running with NaNoWriMo, and had a great first day with more than 3000 words! Need to stay ahead as I’m also working on a free read and the print version of my novel released in September. Love working under pressure! 😄😄

    Hope you get all caught up! 👍

    Liked by 3 people

  2. I’m obsessed with my Twitter and Tumblr accounts (and super self-aware that I have a problem, ha ha!) but I’m still able to get a good amount of work done even with the distraction. Still, sometimes and need to give myself the chance to focus on nothing but my writing. Turning off the wifi and leaving my phone in another room are the best ways for me to avoid the distraction of social media.

    And, yes! I’m doing NaNoWriMo this year! I’ve hit the minimum word count for day one but I’m going to keep writing – gotta build up that buffer!

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s good you’re still able to get work done even though you use social media a lot. I feel like it’s the opposite for me ;_;

      Good luck with NaNoWriMo!! Yes, leaving the phone in another room is so helpful!

      Like

  3. I’m also doing NaNoWriMo, and I’m excited to say that this is my very first time doing it! I’ll be taking many of your tips and staying away from the aforementioned distractions that plague us all. Best of luck to you as well on your writings!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I’m trying to do both like a crazy person. O.o First time doing NaNoWriMo but got off to a good start and discovered that my library is actually doing events around NaNoWriMo too, kind of exciting. Meanwhile I have blog posts I want to write as well as my NaNoWriMo word count. Phew, typing, typing typing. XD

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Social media truly is a time- sucking beast that steals you away from working on the things your passionate about. These tips for me were wonderful. I never turn off my phone for anything, but now that I think about the sort of benefits I could receive putting my phone away while I write seems really appealing! I wish you well on your writing endeavors! We are all in the journey of words together!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Social media sure is a time suck. I have to make a list of sites to visit the moment I turn on my laptop now. That way I can actually tidy up the house. Then when I’m done with that, at least, I have to start writing. I’m so behind.

    I’m also not doing NaNoWriMo this year – well, we’ll see how long that resolve lasts because it’s everywhere. But I’m not working on any new stories until I get the 4 stories that are waiting to be edited and revised done and dusted before the year’s end.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Yes, I’m finding social media is sucking me in too – now trying to keep a balance. I’ve been meaning to say for ages how much I love your cloudscape picture background! Good luck with your time managment.

    Like

  8. This is some awesome advice, and I’ll say I do these things myself and they seem so small but they make a big difference.Most important for me is creating a reward system. I can’t do X until I write, but I tend to frame it more positively where “I will do more writing and X will be my reward”, which gives me something to look forward to. I find it is a bit more productive for me than denial.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

