Progress (For Writers)

As always, I want to apologize for not responding to everyone’s comments. This week has been tough for me.

giphy-34

Gomensai (ごめんなさい) = I’m sorry in Japanese 

I’m not sure why, exactly, but it’s been rough.

On to today’s topic!

giphy (35).gif

The progress bar!!

For today, I want to discuss progress. For me, progression is critical. I hate feeling like I haven’t been accomplishing something or progressing. As writers, we want to feel like we are growing and improving our craft.

However, sometimes, we have to wonder how we judge progress. We also have to ask ourselves how we get there. In a world where people are always on the go and want quick solutions now, how do we work our way up to progressing?

Life is full of distractions, and as writers, we need to stay focused on honing our skills.

Right now, I’m reading a book called “Fire Up Your Writing Brian – How to use Proven Neuroscience to Become a More Creative, Productive, and Successful Writer” by Susan Reynolds.

In the book, she said:

“Mostly, however, writing requires massive dedication, a whole lot of time spent alone, way too much sitting, countless hours spent thinking hard, and unending, and occasionally painful, dedication to forming ideas and laboring over the production of sentences, paragraphs, scenes, dialogue, punctuation, and all the elements that go into writing a novel, a play, a screenplay, or a poem. When we’re not writing, we’re thinking, plotting, imagining, or editing, which can be far more tedious than cranking out first drafts.”

Those words describe the life of a writer! If we want to progress, we need to slow ourselves down and spend time with our world and characters.

With that said, how do you measure your progress? Do you decide based on many hours a day you spend writing, or is it based on reading back your old manuscripts and seeing how you improved?

Honestly, weighing progression can be a hard thing to do, and it depends on your goals. If your goal was to write more, and you find yourself spending time every day to write, then you are progressing.

One popular writer, I talked to – she has over 91K followers online for her stories – told me the best thing I can do is keep writing. She told me to write several books and to keep going.

Depending on what you want from writing, progress is important. However, please don’t stress or tire yourself out. Many people – in real life and online – have told me I’m trying too hard. For me, I don’t see that being the case. If I were really trying too hard, then I would be more accomplished (I’m not accomplished at all, I’m a trashcan). In the end, only you can figure out if you are making progress or not.

Lastly, don’t be scared to switch things up and expand yourself. If one method is not working, then try a new one. Progress is important, and as writers, we always want to grow and learn. You’ll get there^^

How do you gauge your progress?

Ugh, it sucks because I don’t feel like I’m progressing right now > < At least the new book I’m reading is good. I started reading Droplets, and the merman reminds me of Assan…It’s scary when you see the same idea you had for a character in another book ;_; At least Assan can’t become human at will, and if he does, he’ll be naked > < Which reminds me, Clash of Tides will be updated soon!!! Do I even have any readers for my stories here? =(

13 thoughts on “Progress (For Writers)

  1. First of all, I have to be enjoying the writing. Secondly, I want to FINISH my writing projects. The third factor for success: how original is it? I can’t sit and write all day, I have a full-time job as a teacher, but when I sit and write, I try to ignore Monkey Mind and just meet my quota.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Enjoying the writing is very important^^

      Yes! Finishing the writing projects is also important and hard. I understand what you mean about having a full-time job. =( Thanks for stopping by and commenting^^

      Like

  2. I think all kinds of progress are necessary. Word counts are easy to understand and track, but impovements in quality of writing are much harder to measure. It’s the latter that’s actually got me worried. I’m beginning to realise that I’m writing a novel in English in a non-English-speaking country.

    I think the best way to improve writing is to get feedback on it, but from what I’ve heard from authors, very few people who read a book write a review on it. It makes me feel guilty and anxious. I’ve never written a book review in my life, and it would be fine karma if nobody ever reviewed my books!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Pingback: Progress (For Writers) — A.M.Bradley – georgespisak

  4. I think one of the reasons I really like the idea of NaNoWriMo is because of how easy the project makes it to track your progress. You have a firm goal and deadline, smaller daily goals, and lots of support. Outside of NaNo I don’t track my progress that way at all. I don’t pay attention to word could but I think that’s more due to the nature of how I share my story. Instead I just focus on whether or not I’m progressing enough to get two new chapters of my story up each week.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Hi there, For me progress in having to do less checking up on writing conventions, basically what Susan Reynolds lists as you’ve quoted above – where these elements dovetail together more naturally, as in you’ve learned the craft and of course that comes through keeping on writing. Apart from that, I try not to be too judgmental of myself (yes, takes practice) and to enjoy the all consuming nature of writing.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. I have gone through a few of your posts and I find that your blog is interesting and well written. Just have to leave a comment to let you know. Have a wonderful weekend!! Cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

