Saving Money While Improving Your Craft (For writers)

Hey, everyone! Happy Tuesday!

giphy (51).gif

It’s hard to believe we are in the last few days of November. It’s been a busy catch-up month, and the catch up for me will pour into December.

How did NaNoWriMo go? Did you win? :3

It’s only Tuesday, and yet again, drama already started on that particular website that grinds my gears. Long story short, someone started a thread for POC (People of Color) in fiction. However, their tone was so aggressive. It’s sad because people were already starting to get turned off from the good they were trying to do. I told them I remembered their last thread started drama (which it did), and their approach may drive supporters away. Of course, I got attacked yet again for not agreeing with people online.

When it comes to online writing sites, be very selective of the ones you join. If I didn’t have such a following there, my account would be deleted so fast. Starting discussions about POC in fiction is a great thing, but we have to be tactful in how we start such conversations. Calling out people of a certain race to not join in with their experiences isn’t the way to help anyone. Martin Luther King preached love and acceptance, and I wish more people online did the same. Needless to say, I’ve decided for my own sanity to take a break from it. Real life is already full of enough drama.

Now since my mini rant is over, I want to share how you can save money and still improve your craft.

giphy (52).gif

  • Udemy.com 

Recently, Udemy had a sale on Writing Fiction classes for $10, so I figured that would help me learn something new. A literary agent teaches the class, so I’m keeping my fingers crossed.

Udemy.com is just one of the websites that provide cheap or free classes for users to take. While no, the classes aren’t accredited; however, they are still useful for honing up your skills. Surprisingly, they are decent in length. I am still trying to finish up my “Writing With Flair” class.

  • Used Writing Books 

Buying used writing guides off Amazon is another way you can save money. I know most people use e-books and free guides online, but having a physical is always nice, too.

  • Community College Courses and Workshops

If you are low on money, consider taking a class at your local community college or a single day workshop. A writer’s workshop may also help with getting feedback on your stories.

  • Ask a Trusted Writer Friend

 As much as we love our friends and want their help, I advise only asking a writer friend you trust. Someone who will be honest with you, but also won’t praise everything you write. You need serious critiques with constructive criticism

I hope this post was helpful, and you got some ideas on how to save some money while learning your craft.

Until next time, have an awesome day! Oh, before I forget, does anyone have any good recommendations on where I can get feedback for my work? I really want to get some feedback, so I know what to address in the second draft of my stories. Thanks!

Do you have any tips for saving money as a writer? If you want, please share them. 

17 thoughts on “Saving Money While Improving Your Craft (For writers)

  1. I don’t have any tips for saving money as a writer since I’ve never taken such class. As for feedback, I’d say ask a fellow writer, perhaps get their email and use that as the mean of communication. If you want feedback on something short -probably less than 1500 words, I think you can usual get it on WordPress but anything longer might be difficult.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I live in a non-English-speaking country, so it’s difficult for me to find offline classes on creative writing (in English) that I can attend. I already own several books on improving writing, but I didn’t know about Udemy. Thanks for the tip!

    I don’t personally know anyone you could take your story to, but if you’re not just looking for technical improvements and you don’t mind spending some money, you could send your story to an editor for a structural edit. I’ve heard good things about them.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You need a solid beta reader. Do you have any consistent readers right now? I’ve used people that were big (fangirl) fans of my writing and they’ve enjoyed having early access. They tell me what isn’t right, and even give me a list of typos if they find any.

    Like

  4. I use scribophile.com. It’s a site for giving and getting critiques from other writers of varying skill. There are professionals, editors, casuals, hobbyists, and people just starting up on the site. The free account allows you to post two pieces at a time (3,000 word chunks) for critique. There’s also forums for questions about publishing, writing, the site, books, everything. I’ve had my ups and downs with it, but have had an overall positive experience with the site. Give it a go, there’s really nothing much to lose.

    Like

  5. Hi there,

    I took great note of your ‘rant’ and advice about online writing communties – well said. I’m not on any, and don’t feel deprived, in fact I think I’d find it annoying and possibly stressful. If I wanted feedback on my writing, I think I’d ask a friend (any friend) whose judgment I trust and who I know will be able to be honest with me. I would keep it as simple as possible and love doing my own editing and proof reading – go figure that one!

    Being selective in itself can help save money too:>)

    Like

    • Thanks :3 I feel like sometimes communities can be helpful, but a lot of times it’s nothing but drama. I’ve been in two writing communities now, and they all ended up the same way. People fighting, people wanting to be popular, and all the difference in opinions. At this point, I think it’s best for me to stay away from them and just find a few friends I trust.

      Thanks! I’ll probably do that.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. You could create a page geared for ARC readers. Detail the genre and sub-genre, length, and how much time they have to read and critique. A simple sign-up page should work. I plan to do just that when I’m writing longer.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. If you’re not part of one, I highly recommend joining a writing group in the city where you live. Different people have different strengths when it comes to editing, so having a group of people helps catch so many more weak spots in your story than one or two trusted people. Plus, if three or four people comment on a certain section with similar comments, you know that’s an area that needs work. They can also be so encouraging, and help push you to make and meet writing goals. Plus, there is a difference in how people act in person versus when they have the security of making comments behind a computer screen. Finally, I have a book suggestion that may change your whole view of the editing process. It discusses specific mistakes authors commonly make in their manuscripts and it tells you exactly how to fix them. It’s called, “Don’t Sabotage Your Submission: Insider Information from a Career Manuscript Editor to Save your Manuscript from Turning up D.O.A.” by Chris Roerden. Thank you for your post. I think a post about the writing communities you are part of would be interesting, some of the pros and cons of each. Perhaps you’ve already done one about that though.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! Next year I’ll be looking for a writing group in the city I live in. Also, thanks so much for the book recommendation!! I’m definitely trying to get better at editing.

      I really wish I had a good writers group, and I hope I can find one soon.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

