Book Reviews (For Writers)

Hey, everyone! I hope you are doing well. Before we get into today’s topic, I decided to start posting my todo list on my posts. That way, people are aware of what I’m working on. Right now, I’m beta reading two stories, so I’m hoping to get those done soon.

Next, I wanted to let everyone know I will be starting the critique group on WordPress! I’m so happy people were for the idea, so I figure why not? My goal for the group is to discuss the following topics:

  • Critiques
  • Marketing
  • Networking
  • Contests
  • Publishing

And any other subjects everyone else would like to partake in.

Alright, now since that is out of the way, I thought I would share this with everyone. If you ever feel bad about making a typo or an error, don’t. I always beat my head against the wall when I see a typo I made, but apparently, even professional websites do it too:

wattpad-typo

For the record, I found that when I tried to log in and take my stories down. I actually follow a blogger who posts typos she finds on professional websites, and it makes me feel like I’m not alone.

On to the topic!!

giphy-53

Today, I want to talk about writing book reviews. Now some of you may already do this, and if you do, that’s great! When improving our stories, I always think it’s helpful to write book reviews. Now, you don’t need to be a book blogger or anything, but just writing a freehand review of a book you just read can be beneficial to your own stories.

For example, I recently finished “Bloody Bones” by Laurell K. Hamilton. It’s the 5th book in the Anita Blake series, and honestly, I couldn’t stand it. For those who read the series, you know Anita Blake is supposed to be a strong female heroine. Now I have nothing wrong with strong female characters. In fact, I love them, but Anita is just ugh…blatantly rude and too much. As I was reading the book, I kept remembering what readers say about Elena from Clash of Tides. Some of my readers find Elena a damsel in distress, and yeah, she is supposed to start off that way. Realistically, a black woman from the 18th century who was treated poorly her whole life isn’t going to start off “strong.” Elena needs to understand the undersea world before she can start fighting the monsters. Elena’s strength is more in her ability to sacrifice herself for the greater good, oppose to pulling a gun out on everyone, for everything.

When I read Bloody Bones, I kept thinking, “What is it I didn’t like about this story? The character development? The plot?” Mostly, I didn’t like the character development. Anita is supposed to be strong, independent, and treats everyone around her like crap. Sorry, but if a female treats everyone second rate, why do all the guys hit on her? See! That made me realize how I could write a strong female character and not make the same mistakes. So, take the time and write a review for the last story you read. Analyze the characters’ personalities, pacing, and how the other characters react to the MC.

Have you ever written a review for a published book? Did you learn anything that helped you with your own writing?

8 thoughts on “Book Reviews (For Writers)

  1. I really support this post and I really enjoyed reading about your example. I also feel that by assessing someone else’s work and thinking about why you didn’t enjoy a novel as opposed to just dismissing it as a bad book can really strengthen your own writing skill.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m super on board with this post!

    I wrote a flurry of book reviews back in 2012-2013. I love examining my own process if I was feeling super in love with or annoyed with a book. In almost every instance in which I didn’t like the book, I realized that the M.C. felt too unrelatable to me.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yes have written some reviews. The things I have learned from writing reviews, is to look critical at a book. What do I like about it and what can the author improve, and I think that would help me writing my story because I know what I would like to see in other stories, so I should do it in mine as well. Like description, I am not good at writing them and most of the time I don’t describe when I write but I love reading good and necessary descriptions. So I am working on them at the moment.

    Like

  4. My page is made for book reviews! Not summaries because I do not want to ruin the book for anybody, but short reviews that glaze over the main ideas and tell you what you will be getting from the book. I am posting my second review today, if you would like to check out my page.

    I would really appreciate it!

    thewrightread.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

