Flash Fiction: Anxiety of a Writer

She paced around the room, walking in circles for what felt like the fiftyish time.

Her body was a ball of nerves, trembling, like anxiety was radiating off her. She knew she needed to calm down, to gain some sense of sanity.

She would often check every thirty minutes to an hour; thoughts swirling inside her mind like a raging storm that wouldn’t stop. As she put her fingers in her mouth, she felt a tight knot in the pit of her stomach.

Finally, she sat down and checked her email again. She gasped. The response was there, in her inbox. Quickly she breathed a sigh of relief and clicked on the email. Beads of sweat formed on her forehead, and she read the words that made her want to cry, “Rejected.”

This story is dedicated to all the writers that worry about responses for your manuscripts. Waiting to hear back from agents and publishers is nerve wracking, but please know, you are not alone. It’s ok to feel disappointed and sad, but don’t forget, you have to keep going.

I hope you liked it!

14 thoughts on “Flash Fiction: Anxiety of a Writer

    • Thanks so much! I’m so happy you liked my little short story. I feel like this happens to writers, a lot, so I wanted to bring awareness to it. Even if you get rejected, you need to keep on going. =)

      Liked by 1 person

  1. This is a great post; I could feel the emotion as I was reading it. Then, I had a “Flashforward” moment; My manuscript is litterally almost finished. As its gets closer to being finished, the more nervous I get. So, I can only imagine what my nerves will be like while waiting for the response back after sending it in.

    ~* Des *~

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

