2016 Review and 2017 Goals

giphy-59

I’m back! Sorry, I didn’t tell you, but I went back to the east coast to visit my family.

It was cold, too cold, but the visit was nice. Going home put many things in perspective for me. Mostly, time is always moving, waiting for no one. Everyone is getting older, and like most people in their 20s, they are learning about the “real world.”

Overall, I won’t say 2016 was a bad year, but it wasn’t a great year. By this time, I wanted to be further in my writing process. Maybe not published, but I at least wanted a few rejection letters. The letters would have displayed I tried to publish. Also, I learned a lot this year, and I feel like my writing has improved. For 2016, I will say what I accomplished and what I didn’t:

  • I finally left Wattpad – I know this doesn’t seem like a big deal, but I was on that site for almost three years. I made a few friends there and got over 1M reads on my poorly written fanfiction. For me, it was supposed to be my writing hub, but after seeing how the business treated their writers, I was done. Needless to say, I left and hope to never go back.

My feelings:

giphy (58).gif

  • Clash of Tides is almost complete – I would like to say Clash of Tides is finished, but it’s not. However, I am only about 10 chapters away from the end. That is an accomplishment in itself. It will be the first full-length, original novel I’ve ever completed. Despite its issues, I love the characters and world I created. If I really wanted, I could get the story done before the end of the year, but I don’t want to rush it^^ 
  • I changed jobs – I won’t go into detail about that one.
  • Acceptance – As writers, I feel it’s important to accept we won’t write the perfect story. That it’s ok to make mistakes, and lastly, that only YOU will truly love your work. It took a long time for me to feel this way, and I urge all writers to get there.
  • My blog – If you read this blog, then you know the story. I have 920 followers now – I’m in awe.

My reaction:

giphy-60

There’s more, butI don’t want to list everything out. 🙂

What I didn’t accomplish and 2017 goals:

  • Writers Conference – I wanted to go this year, but money, as always, was a problem. However, next year I’ll be attending my first conference. It’s about time.
  • Finish and publish Love for an Angel – I’ve decided to not only finish Love for an Angel next year but also self-publish it. I wanted to complete it this year, but I need more time to craft the world I want.
  • Creative Writing Certificate and Technical Writing Certificate – I want to get my second creative writing certificate and my technical writing one. This will be a huge accomplishment.
  • 9/Nine Realms – My goal is to finish 9/Nine Realms in six months. I want to submit this story for publication.
  • Submit Short Stories for Publication – You read that correctly! Next year, I plan to submit some short stories for publication. My goal is to be a published writer before 2018. We’ll see what happens^^ Wish me luck =)
  • Improve as a writer – I want to keep improving, and be the best writer I can be.

giphy (61).gif

What did you accomplish this year for your writing, and what are your goals for next year?

Please share with us!

Did you miss me? :3

8 thoughts on “2016 Review and 2017 Goals

  1. Of course we missed you. XD
    I feel like this year was pretty bad but in terms of writing I also achieved so much that I’m really proud. As for next year, I want to publish one of my books at least, finish the short stories I started this year as well as get into a regular pattern for my blog posts. And also reach and support more of my fellow writers.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Glad to hear that you’re back from the east coast!

    Your goals are well thought out and definitely seem achievable! Here are my goals:

    – Take two online writing courses by May 2017
    – Complete the first draft of my latest novel, Stalder Press to Handstand, by February 1, 2017
    – Get one of my short stories published in a literary magazine by October 1, 2017

    Liked by 1 person

  3. It’s good to hear that you are back! I really hope that you achieve your goals this year.

    My goals are to submit my YA novel for publication.

    I want to attend a writing conference.

    And I want to finish the three novels that I am currently working on.

    Liked by 1 person

      • Until my novel is published, I don’t want to disclose too much information. However, the general gist of the book is a suspenseful novel about a teenage girl who faces danger in a dystopian society. I haven’t decided which conference to attend but I’m looking at some located in Houston. What conference are you attending?

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I accomplished so much this year, I can hardly believe it! The best thing was starting this blog though ❤
    I wish you the best of luck with your novel, don't ever give up! I actually finished writing and editing my first novel this year, and I can tell you that it wasn't easy, but I'm glad I stuck with it. I just have to polish it more and publish it now (Just, I make it sound easy hehe).

    Meno<3

    Like

  5. I feel like I accomplished much this year. I didn’t really publish anything, but I restarted my blog and picked up some readers, and I’m very happy about that. I also made some new writers friends who I feel have been a great encouragement. I wrote the second draft of a southern romance novel, participated in NaNoWriMo for the first time and finished 60k words in 30 days. A month later I completed finished the first draft of the novel.

    As for my goals in 2017, I am currently working out a second draft for a paranormal suspense novel on my blog, and I hope to complete my Japanese manga inspired tale, Vampire Boys Of Summer (or at least a first book in the series). Plus I hope to participate in either camp NaNoWriMo or NaNoWriMo (though my new baby should be here at that time, so that might be an impossible feat). Either way I hope to get a brand new novel written by the end of the year, but I don’t have the subject yet.

    Best wishes to all your endeavors my friend, and do keep writing your stories and posting your helpful tips on your blog. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

