Happy New Years!!!

Hey, everyone!

giphy-68

Sorry, I haven’t been posting as much, but I’ve been trying to get back into that writing mode. One of my major goals for next year is to enter a writing contest and publish something. I know I won’t be able to publish one of my stories, but I’m hoping to at least publish a short story.

Also, eight months ago I started this blog, and I’m almost at 1000 followers. That’s awesome! Thank you for supporting me in 2016, and I want to keep writing the posts that helped this blog to grow. And to do that, I want to write what you all enjoy.

Next year, I’m going to focus on blog posts with writing advice, writer problems, and encouragement. And if there are any topics you want me to cover, please let me know.

This blog has gone through so many changes, and it’s still changing. Thanks so much for reading about my crazy writing life. I hope next year, me, and all of us, accomplish more of our writing goals. Be positive, be happy, sit in front of that computer (or notebook), and write to your heart’s desire!!!

giphy (66).gif

or, if this is you

giphy (65).gif

it’s ok, you’ll get that writing muse back!

So from me (and all my characters):

HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!!!!

giphy-67

P.S. Clash of Tides will officially be done in 2017! Let the dreaded rewrite begin.

21 thoughts on “Happy New Years!!!

  1. I enjoy your blog! In the past year you have had some very insightful posts about writing, and I am still reading on Clash Of Tides. Now that my last writing project is done (first draft) I can get back to catching up on reading. Best wishes for you and your writing goals in 2017!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Looking forward to reading your posts in the new year. I’ve been enjoying your posts about online writing communities and your relatable struggles as a writer. I only started my website about three months ago, so it’s neat and encouraging to watch you grow your blog. Since starting my website, I’ve had eight pieces accepted by literary magazines, so when you get your short story ready, I may have some tips to help you get published, if you’re interested.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much!! I’m so happy you like my blog post :3

      Your kind words fill me with so much joy. It’s one of the reasons I started this blog – to help other writers =)

      That’s awesome!!! I will definitely let you know when I’m ready to start querying. Any tips will be helpful^^

      And congrats on being a published author!!!!!!!!!!!!

      Liked by 1 person

      • You’re welcome, and thank you too! I’m excited to see what short story ideas you have, and to see them published! I’ll try to help in any way I can.

        Genre fiction can be a little trickier to place than general fiction in literary magazines. One trick is to keep the word count down between 2,500-5,000 words. With fewer literary magazines publishing genre fiction, letting the word count get into the novelette (7,500-17,500 words) and novella (17,500-40,000 words) range will wipe out most of the available magazines you can submit your pieces to. I’ve been having some success with writing and publishing general short fiction and flash fiction as well as poems. It’s allowed me to experiment with my writing, learn new things, work through things, and I’m hoping I’m learning things that will be applicable to my novel, which is horror.

        One final thought to get you started: Don’t publish your short stories on your blog or anywhere else on the Internet. A lot of magazines consider that as being “published” and don’t accept reprints. Depending on the magazine, you usually retain your rights and can publish them on your blog or somewhere else later.

        Can’t wait to see what you do!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

