Blog Tip Series: Posting Content

blog-tips2

To kick off the New Year, I decided to start a blog tip series. In these posts, I will have tips for growing and expanding your blog. When I read blogs, I often see people mentioning how they want more followers.

For the record, getting followers isn’t easy, so don’t be upset or feel down about it. Lack of followers doesn’t mean your blog is bad. Many factors go into getting followers. For example:

  • What’s your blog layout? It is it easy for user’s to navigate
  • How often do you update? Do you only update 1-2 times a month?
  • What is your content about? Do you stay on one topic or do you jump around?

When you think about the lack of readers, you have to consider those questions. Other blogs mention that I’m popular, but I don’t view myself that way, and I never well. I know the struggle of getting followers on other websites, so I’m not going to say it’s easy. Getting followers takes work, and honestly, I’ve found the less you stress about it, the more people will eventually read your posts. So today, I’m going to talk about content.

In my experience, the best way to grow your blog is by being consistent with your content. If you blog about food, try to make a majority of your posts relate to food. Why you ask? Well, because that’s why people are following you – to read a blog related to their interest. And their interest comes from the subject of your blog post. If you jump topics too often, you show a pattern of being inconsistent with your writing. It may frustrate your followers if they wait for updates, but instead of an engaging blog post about their interest, you switch gears on them.

Now, I’m not saying not to change up your topics, but do it slowly, and make it clear why you are branching away from your normal subject matter.

Also, do your research and speak from an honest experience. Your content will shine if you use your true voice and add in the knowledge that you’ve learned. Believe me, your followers you will notice if you post bad content.

Lastly, I’ve said this before, but I’ll say it again, be yourself. It’s so important to be yourself. And after writing online for so long, I want to stress that if you don’t feel WordPress and blogging are for you, it’s ok. Don’t be afraid to try something different. Readers vary on different websites, so sometimes you need to find the website that works for you. Oh! Whatever content you post, make sure it’s inspirational. Even if it’s a simple, hey, you’ll be ok, I’m here for you. :3 

giphy-69

Tell me, what is the primary subject of your blog, and how do you think you can improve it?

27 thoughts on “Blog Tip Series: Posting Content

  1. For me my blog is about posting stories or passages about what I’m passionate about, I even do the odd Let’s Talk about what I’ve personally learnt from my writing. I feel like my blog involves many different types of writing, but it’s who I am. Sometimes I write short thoughts other times it’s long stories. I don’t think it’s bad to explore different things or try new formats, as long as it’s not every five seconds. 🙂 Looking forward to what other tips you share. ❤

    Liked by 2 people

    • Shadow! How are you doing?

      I totally agree with you about mixing it up. There is nothing wrong with mixing formats and trying new things. I also think it depends on what your goal is for your blog. If your goal is to share your stories and world, then I feel you are doing a great job.

      In the end, a blog is your space, no one else’s =)

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Well, I agree even though I’m mostly a branching out kind of blogger. Though I mostly post about books, on the occasion drama and anime, it takes me a lot of time just to finish a series on either side. And sometimes writing tips if I have something I want to talk about seriously in writing.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Your blog content is always fun to read =) And I agree, you are good with updating. Finding new blogs to read takes time, so don’t stress yourself out. For me, I try to read new blogs at least an hour a day, so that helps me out.

      Like

  3. Great tips! I try to stay on point with my blog. If I’m doing a serialized story I try to keep my posts relating to that until it’s done. I might throw on an odd poem or two to keep the blog active. But consistent is how I like my blog to work. I just need to learn to be more interactive with the blogs I follow 😉

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Hi AKaluv,
    Well I’m one of those that mixes it up and I’m very conscious of it. After some deliberation I decided I wanted the blog to reflect me and my interests, which enable me to keep engaged,motivated, and genuine. I also decided that one post a week was more doable than several. I suppose the common thread could be descibed as about ‘the creative life’ and I hope that comes across, and in that I encompass art, writing, psychology, nature, anything that comes into that – I don’t want to confine myself to one subject area. A good post, Akaluv and excellent advice nonetheless.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Objection!! 😂 first of all, I jump from one topic to another; my blog doesn’t focus on a single thing. I basically write from experience and my point of view; plus being myself is kind of my thing so great post again😉

    Liked by 1 person

  6. It took me some time to figure out my strength in writing and match that with a target market. I love the reminder to keep it going and consistent. Thanks

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

