Get Out of Your Comfort Zone

giphy-72

First, I would like to say thank you for following me!!!! I can’t believe there are over 1,000 of you! When I saw the alert from WordPress, I was shocked. I never thought this blog would get so many followers, but I’m glad people enjoy my posts. Thanks again for following me :3

giphy-73

Also, I would like to thank Rachael for nominating me for the Mystery Blogger Award! In my next post, I’ll answer her questions. They are hard!

giphy (74).gif

Here we go!

Today is an important topic to me. I want to discuss getting out that comfort zone. What do I mean by that? I mean that writer zone, you know, the one where only you and a select few people read your writing.

I also call it the safe zone. It’s a beautiful place where you don’t get feedback, and where your friends (or family) say your writing is wonderful.

I’m not going to lie; the safe zone is an awesome place to be. It’s just you and your writing – no pain, no fears, and just pure imagination.

Well sadly, if you want to be a published writer, you need to step out. Meaning, say goodbye to the safe zone and a hello world of *cough* feedback *cough* bloodcurdling pain. I know it sounds horrible, and sometimes, it is. However, if we want to accomplish that goal of seeing our stories in print (or in e-book format), we need to take the good with the bad.

To me, one of the scariest things in life is taking risks. You can take risks by starting a business, getting into a new relationship or even trying to make friends. What do these all have in common? Stepping out of your comfort zone.

Like with anything, it can either end up good or bad? But you know what? At least you tried! And you never know, you may end up finding your new spouse or making a new best friend. The same applies to publishing our stories. Yeah, so your manuscript may fail, or you could write the next Amazon best seller. If you don’t step out of your comfort zone, you’ll never know.

Benedict Cumberbatch once said, “The further you get away from yourself, the more challenging it is. Not to be in your comfort zone is great fun.”

And Lao Tzu said, “A scholar who cherishes the love of comfort is not deemed fit to be a scholar.”

Two different lives, but both are well-known people.

This year, I plan to step out of my comfort zone, but not just with writing.

So take a chance, and say, “Today, I’m stepping out!” It will be a rough ride, but eventually, you’ll get back on that even pavement.

As writers, we write about our characters finishing their journeys. So, start working on your story, because after all, you are the main character.

giphy (75).gif

Are you going to step out this year?!

28 thoughts on “Get Out of Your Comfort Zone

    • Thanks! I’m glad you liked the post. I always feel it’s important to leave our comfort zone. =) Ahhh!! My blog is your favorite :3 That means so much to me^^

      Thanks for telling me that ^_^

      Like

  1. Congratulations on reaching a thousand! I’m definitely stepping out this year. I’ll be doing a writing course (just got accepted today, Yay!) and also attempting to publish a book and continue to gain connections with other writers. Again Congratulations, Akaluv! ❤

    Like

  2. Congratulations on reaching a thousand and I might, given how much I have done last year(starting a historical fiction book was a good thing but really, difficult) . Since the book at the end of the year which I’m planning to start is going to be something quite unlike anything I have done so far.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Get Out of Your Comfort Zone — A.M.Bradley – Share Art

Leave a Reply

