Visualizing Your Stories (For Writers)

StockSnap_DXHZF2FU5V.jpg

Hey, everyone! I hope you are having a wonderful weekend =)

Unfortunately, I’ve been sick these past two days, but I’m slowly getting better. Thanks to everyone who commented on my last blog post! It was neat to see how everyone handles another writer’s success. Also, I want to thank those who encourage me to keep on writing :3 It’s kind of you to care about me and comment on my blog.

Today, I want to talk about a method I use for my writing.

If you read my stories, or if you used to read my stories (yes, I know they are no longer available), then you may notice I’m a slow writer. The truth is, yes, I am a slow writer. However, there is a reason I take forever to write a chapter. This method may seem strange to some, but it’s something I feel makes my stories better.

Ok, I’m sure you’re wondering what the method is? Well, I visualize everything as if it were a TV show, anime, or movie. I play out the chapter in my head like a visual medium. Honestly, as writers, we know if a movie or TV show is bad. If I visualize the chapter and see that some scenes or dialogue doesn’t make sense, I scrap it. Because of this process, it takes me a while to get everything down in words. When I visualize the chapter, I do everything – and I mean everything: dialogue, description, and setting.

In other words, if I can’t imagine it, then I don’t write it. To explain further, I’ll use an example. You know when you are watching a movie, and certain scenes don’t seem right? It’s like, why would the character say that? Or what’s the point of the characters doing that quest? It’s the same type of idea. If it doesn’t flow well like a movie (or in my case, more an anime), then the idea isn’t working. When I was writing the end of Clash of Tides, I actually had this problem. Elena’s story became so delicate, I needed to make sure I wrote it realistically. The same applies to my newest story, Battle of the Five Kings, which is a dark, high fantasy story.

However, sometimes (and it’s rare), I don’t need to imagine what I’m writing first. Recently, I wrote this 100-word prompt, and it’s gotten excellent reviews on Writing.com so far.

_______________________________________________________________

She couldn’t resist him any longer. His touch was divine, his form was perfection, and his voice was like slink caressing her skin.

He leaned in closer, brushing his lips against her caramel flesh and ebony locks. With slow movements, he journeyed with kisses from her neck to her ear. He whispered, “Lana, may I have you?” His deep voice echoed in her skull, and her defenses were invaded.

His wings fluttered, flickering with delight and then quickly encased her, bringing her body to his.

He was her angel, but she was his sin.

“Yes, Uriel, I’m yours,” she moaned.

~ 100 Words

_________________________________________________________________

When I wrote the above, I was free writing, so I didn’t imangine it first. The good thing, though, is we have various bad examples of visual storytelling. Mainly, bad movies.

Overall, I do enjoy sitting for a good thirty minutes and just daydreaming about my world. However, I have to make sure I don’t fall into the trap of Maladaptive Daydreaming. You can learn more here: Maladaptive Daydreaming – What is it?

giphy-84

I hope you found this post helpful!

What methods do you use to plan out your chapters?

(Sorry for any grammar or spelling mistakes. I’m still high off cough medicine)

26 thoughts on “Visualizing Your Stories (For Writers)

  1. I certainly understand the visualization. I’m usually picturing the story while I’m writing. It’s very similar to reading, where you’re so caught up in the words that you’re completely immersed in the world and you forget that you’re reading. I have actually found places in my writing when I go back to edit, where I became so involved in the story that I switched from third person to first and from past tense to present. And I can’t tell you how many times I’ll be writing and just about jump out of my skin from a sound in the real world around me. And it’s usually when I’m writing horror, home alone, and right in the middle of an intense scene. Every time. Thanks for sharing your process. It’s interesting to hear how different creative minds work.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Oh, that’s a good comparison =) The writing is like when you are reading. Hahaha, that’s awesome! I love the fact that writers can get caught up in their own worlds.

      Ahhh!! After I write a horror story, I’m so jumpy too. It’s nice to talk to another horror writer that has the same experiences. You’re welcome, and thanks so much for commenting!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I really appreciate your visual approach to story writing.

    I am also a fairly visual person, although what plays out in my head as I’m writing is about as lucid as a hazy dream. Still, I always try to base at least 75% of my characters on people I know, or outright incorporate people I know! I reflect on their mannerisms, as well as how they might respond in a hypothetical situation that I know might never happen (good example: for my latest novel, Stalder Press to Handstand, I had to envision how my dear friend would think, act, and respond to the end of the world, including the death of his family – a fairly challenging endeavor!)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I mostly end up writing down notes of plot points that I want to cover and eventually also characters that comes back. As for visualising, I do that a lot of times, but maybe for certain parts of the scenes which really makes me want to write and the I write backwards from there to achieve it. And maybe when I finish writing a scene, some loose ends will show itself and I might just ponder before I find the answer and would write it or if I cannot, just jot it down somewhere so that I won’t forget it.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I definitely visualize things like I’m watching or am indeed in the story/movie/anime. I go on a journey with my characters it’s so exciting and fun! However I do need to have a pen and paper or computer there so I can write it down. I find that I daydream a lot but sometimes I need to get it down before I forget. It’s like I can remember it was good…but I can’t actually remember it, a bit like a real dream. I actually don’t seem to have a great memory. XD But every night I usually fall asleep daydreaming about a story or scene of some sort, so I can totally relate to visualizing everything. Its awesome to see how people approach writing! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Love this post and your take on the writing process. I too visualize my stories, but I must admit I focus more on action and dialogue. I don’t seem to visualize my settings and character looks the way I should . In addition to seeing the story in my head like a movie, I also use music to help me in my writing. I create playlists and soundtracks to inspire me, or just to get me in that right mood. Enjoyed your post! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • Your approach to writing is very similar to mines. Considering I’m a visual person I also like to visualize the scene as if I’m directing a movie before I write. It makes the scene feel more real to me. As far as music, I’ve found it very helpful in the creative process. Depending on the type of music I’m listening to, it can give me inspiration or get me in the right frame of mind to write out certain scenes. I agree with a lot of the points in the post.

      Liked by 2 people

  6. I love this post! I do the same. The only difference I’d probably say is that I do less imagining and do more looking around. The locations in my stories were heavily inspired by actual locations I’ve been to. And that makes visualization very easy for me.

    My old elementary school for my first story set in a haunted school. I wrote my 2nd story while living in a rural area. I literally just had to look out the window at the scary, dark night to get rid of writer’s block. My third book is set in my neighborhood.

    This is probably why I’m having trouble writing my fourth book since it’s set in a fantasy forest world. I guess I have to flex my imagination muscles more.

    Like

  7. I think I take this to a whole new level. Whenever I have trouble with a scene, I will actually out my laptop down and act out the scene from the point of view of the main character. I’ll deliver her lines to the empty space where so-and-so character is standing and see if I can work it out, like I’m acting with invisible people or something. It’s weird, but it works for me.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

