Measuring Accomplishments

StockSnap_8SYFKOO040.jpg

Recently, I’ve been dealing with my self-doubt again. You know, the classic, “I’m a horrible writer,” “I haven’t accomplished anything,” and “I should give up writing and save myself the pain.”

However, today, when I logged into Facebook (which is rare for me), I saw a post my friend wrote. In her post, she mentioned never giving up. She also said if you want to change your life, you have to go out and make that change.

For the past few years, I’ve been trying to change my writing life. Today’s post is more of a personal piece, but I’m posting it in hopes that others will be inspired.

In my writing journey, I’ve been on various writing websites, and I’ve met different writers. For a long time, and even still slightly today, I don’t feel like an accomplished writer. Compared to most writers online, I don’t have millions of people reading my work, I don’t make any money from my stories, and I don’t have any complete stories to publish, yet.

Like most writers, when I first started writing, I was hoping readers would like my work, and I would gain a decent following. Well, that didn’t happen, at all…or so, I thought.

Earlier today, I checked my stats from last year and wrote down a list of everything I’ve accomplished. And well, to my surprise, my own numbers blew me away.

Below is my blog stats for last year…

wordpress-stats-1

WordPress Stats 2.png

Clash of Tides had over 4,000 page views, and the Clash of Tides chapters had over 300 views. In a way, I had a part of what I wanted, but I was blinded by what was in front of me. You are probably wondering why this is important, and I’m going to tell you.

When you measure your accomplishments, look at WHERE YOU CAME FROM, AND WHERE YOU ARE NOW. The key here is don’t compare where others are, but just look at yourself. I know most writers know not to compare themselves, but I always do. Compared to when I first started, I’ve accomplished more than I thought I did. So from now, I’m going to make a list every month of what I’ve done. If you feel your writing isn’t getting anywhere, make a list of your accomplishments. Look at your list and let it fuel you to keep moving. After all, if a car doesn’t drive, then it will never reach its destination.

Here is my writing list of accomplishments. For this list, I’m going to include everything so far that I feel is important to me. These accomplishments have been throughout my writing journey online.

Wattpad:
– My old fanfictions reached over 1M reads on Wattpad.
– I won an award on Wattpad for one of my fanfictions.
– Clash of Tides was a finalist in an Under The Sea writing contest.
– Clash of Tides was added to the Wattpad Fantasy profile of high ranking stories.
– Clash of Tides was added to the Tales of the Deep Wattpad profile.
– Love for an Angel was added to the New Adult Reads profile.
– Love for an Angel was added to the Paranormal Wattpad profile.

WordPress:
– In less than a year, my WordPress blog reached over 1, 200 followers.
– My posts got reblogged on various writing advice sites.

Writing.com:
– Won one writing contest.
– Honorable mention in another contest.

100Wordstory.org
– I submitted my first submission for publication on the website.

When I look at this list, I don’t see someone who was ever a failure, I see a writer who was blinded by everything they accomplished. So to my readers and followers, thank you so much for supporting me.ย 

If you don’t mind, can you tell me what you have accomplished with your writing? I would love to read everyone’s list.

65 thoughts on “Measuring Accomplishments

  1. I don’t have an ongoing list like this, but I remember when I released Just Breathe. I would have felt over the moon if 100 people downloaded it. But the first day, almost 200 downloaded it on Smashwords alone. I couldn’t believe it. I still get this itch, like maybe there’s something more I can do to reach more readers, but really, for what I do and my choices, I am doing what I need to be doing. There’s a steady rate of downloads every day and I’m still climbing the Most Downloaded Author list, which is still surprising to me. So when I begin to feel that itch, I look back at what I wanted when I started, and what I have now. It really helps to put things into perspective.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you, Rachael!

      I’ve accomplished a lot, but I hope others see the things they’ve accomplished as well. And yes, I need to get better at only comparing me, to me. ๐Ÿ˜›

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Akaluv, this is such an important message, and honestly, I was just having a pep talk with myself last week about how I need to quit undermining my accomplishments, and I need to not let setbacks pull me under.
    I’ve been writing for the past few years, and I have drafts of two novels completed. I’m starting on the editing of the second one, I’m working in reverse order. I hope to one day go back and finish editing my first one. These are my large projects.
    In the past six months, I’ve accomplished a lot of smaller tasks that have forced me to face a lot of fears, and made me grow a lot as a writer. In Sept. I started a website/blog and Facebook Author page. My original plan was to post once a month, so I at least had something started when I reach the point of submitting my manuscripts to agents. I’ve managed to post at least once a week. Since starting my website, I’ve had nine pieces accepted by literary magazines. Two come out in print this year. I dabbled in poetry, which inspires me and I admire, but I didn’t think I could write. I have had three poems published. Last week I mailed in entries for a writing contest in both poetry and adult fiction.
    This is really a gloss over of the things I’ve accomplished, but there have been significant hurdles that I’ve overcome to get to where I am now (mostly just my own fear and self-doubt). I wish it felt like enough. I raise the bar too quickly. As soon as I accomplish something, the bars already bumped up and I don’t allow myself enough time to appreciate my achievements, which is frustrating.
    I appreciate you trying to inspire and encourage other writers. I’ve told you in the past that I think what you’ve accomplished shows that you’re successful. I understand your struggle to stay ahead of the doubt though. I’ve thought before, that if I weren’t so passionate about writing, it would have already swallowed me whole. But I need it, like I need air, and I won’t be pulled under for long.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you, Mandie! I know my blog comes off preachy, but I do like to remind other writers of their worth :3

      I know you can do it! Writers undermining themselves is so easy in this day and age. Thanks to the internet and social media, we will always see others that are ahead of us. Madnie, you are doing so well, and you should never feel like you havenโ€™t accomplished anything with your writing. You are a published writer, and so many aim to get where you are. You are doing good! Beat that self-doubt into the ground and remember everything that youโ€™ve done!!

      Thanks so much for sharing your accomplishments with us. Youโ€™ve taken steps to get where you are, and I know you will only grow from here :3

      Iโ€™m happy you find my blog inspiring. As writers, we need a place to discuss our fears and also our accomplishments. This is what I wanted for this post. For all of us to reflect on where we were and where we are now. ^__^

      Liked by 1 person

      • I think when it comes to writing about inspiration and writing advice you have to take a firm stand, which can come off as preachy. But the reason to do it that way is not to say this is the only way. It’s to give other writers something concrete to try to grab onto in order to keep moving forward.
        Thank you for the encouragement. My tactic this last week has been to not think about setbacks, not to think about the mountain of editing I have to do, or what I want to accomplish in the future. I think about the work in front of me. One task at a time. And when I finish one, I put another one in front of me and focus on that.
        This week has been harder than others. And what I’ve tried to make myself understand is that if I want a long career in writing, I can’t let setback and self-doubt have so much control over me. In a month I won’t remember them because there will be something new. As long as I focus on the work, it will get me through until I have something new to celebrate. But committing to the work will eventually get me where I want to go, so looking around and being distracted about how I’m not where I want to be now won’t do anything but hurt me.

        Like

  3. Congratulations on your accomplishments! That’s an awesome list and you’ve got so many things to be proud of! I keep forgetting to remind myself of this but the only person I need to compare myself with is the person I was yesterday. I fall into the comparison-itis syndrome a lot especially in one FB group I’m in where everyone, it seems, is making tens of thousands of dollars more than I am and writing 2 books a month where here I am struggling with getting out the one book that I finished 2 years ago.

    I was just feeling down about that yesterday as I watch fellow writers have higher rankings and some happily reminding me that they’re one spot below me on a subcategory and they can’t wait to overtake me (even in jest, it felt weird). And then one friend reminded me that I remain true to my characters and my story all the time, no matter what. And I have accomplished so much more than I did last year when I fell into comparison-itis syndrome really bad and finished only one book where in the previous years, I was way more prolific.

    Congratulations again! Keep writing your stories because no one has your voice ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thanks, Liz! It doesnโ€™t feel like much, but itโ€™s something. Right! Isnโ€™t easy to fall into that comparison trap? Itโ€™s especially easy when around another group of writers. However, I feel like youโ€™ve accomplished a lot, Liz, and every writer will have their own timeline of getting things done. Youโ€™ve accomplished so much, and I know you are going to keep progressing!

      ^___^

      Liked by 1 person

      • It’s definitely something! You’ve accomplished a lot as well and never discount every little step to get you from point A to point B ๐Ÿ™‚ I have to remind myself every time to compare myself to the writer I was yesterday and not to someone else. The struggle is real!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Congrats on the stats and accomplishments, Akaluv! ๐Ÿ™‚ Well deserved, happy for you. Love that car analogy ๐Ÿ˜‰

    As for me, personally I don’t know what I’ve accomplished with writing/blogging, maybe it’s just for the lulz? ๐Ÿ˜€ I like connecting to people all over the world, such as yourself (always thought you were a brilliant writer). Hmm well, writing is more a form of self-therapy-expression for me, while I know your goals are more in the “professional sphere”, but it’s all good, right? ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Looking forward to seeing more of your achievements, writing, and stuff. lol hugs

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you! Lol, I honestly donโ€™t know where the car analogy came from. I was just thinking about things that need to keep moving.

      There is nothing wrong with writing for fun =) If it works for you, then keeping doing it :3

      Liked by 1 person

  5. This is such a good post, Akaluv! I’m so glad that you have accomplished so much with your writing and your blog! That’s really awesome.
    I haven’t really done much with my writing besides starting a blog. However, I have gained way more followers on WordPress than I ever thought that I would. I have also completely finished and edited one novel that I am in the process of getting published.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Really good post. It’s all about reframing, instead of seeing the negative, do exactly as you said, and think about where you’ve come from. Very wise words and ones I’ll think on in the next few months of struggle-town!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. See, Akaluv, I’m so glad you have realized your accomplishments! You are an amazing writer and you put so much hard work into it. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Honestly personally I’m not sure I have many accomplishments past starting a blog in the first place. Especially the last month I feel like everything’s ground to a halt (in my writing). I’m sure I’ll get my groove back at some point though.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you, Shadow!

      I figured instead of feeling down about myself, I should look at the numbers to see if I was right lol.

      I feel you’ve accomplished a lot. =) You have your blog and many wonderful short stories there for people to read :3 I know once things settle down, you’ll get your groove back. Oh! I posted chapter 20 for Clash of Tides. I would love to get your feedback on it. I’m planning to do a rewrite soon, so any feedback is helpful.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Well done on everything you’ve achieved so far…it’s just the beginning!

    I’ve only been writing again for about three weeks so I don’t have much in the way of accomplishments, but your post resonated with me because self-doubt was the reason I gave up writing years ago. I knew that the kind of stuff I wanted to write wouldn’t be to many people’s taste, so I quit.

    But I finally got to a point where I don’t care what the majority of people think about my writing. I decided to write for myself and the people who “get it”…and I just have to believe that they’ll eventually find my stories somehow.

    Besides, that daily wrestling match with Mr Self-Doubt is kinda character building ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 3 people

    • Thanks! I hope so :3

      I can understand that self-doubt about having a niche readership, but Iโ€™ve read your work, and itโ€™s amazing. So many readers like horror stories and I feel youโ€™ll shine with your stories. Finding those niche readers is hard, but when you do find them, they are so awesome.

      Iโ€™m glad you started writing again! I love reading your 50-word stories, and they inspire me to keep writing my own.

      Writing for yourself is the best thing to do! And self-doubt is great character building. Essentially, we are the main characters of our own stories. ^__^

      Liked by 1 person

      • I think I might print that off and stick it on my wall for the next time the self-doubt gremlin comes knocking! Thank you so much for that ๐Ÿ˜€

        I guess persistence is the key for all writers. The world is probably full of great writers who gave up too soon.

        Liked by 1 person

  9. Akaluv, you have inspired many of us, myself included! Your numbers and accomplishments are incredible, and most importantly, they are your own! Your hard work, vulnerability, and determination are signs of your passion, and the hits you’ve gotten are just one of the many benefits of following your love for writing. Keep it up!

    Liked by 2 people

  10. Congratulations!
    I’m a newbie to weblogging and writing in general. I’m excited for being part of this new world.
    You have found the formula, Aka, for greater achievements, by comparing yourself only with your own self. Forget the achievements of others, except to feel happy for them, in a generous way.
    No envy. Just joy.
    Looking forward to learning more from your work!
    Regards. Marie.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much!

      Blogging is so much fun, and WordPress is an awesome community for writers =) There are so many talented and wonderful writers here.

      Yes, it’s always important to not compare yourself to another writer. Thanks again! I hope you like my blog posts :3

      Liked by 1 person

  11. I’m going through something like this right now. It’s more of a case of things happening in my personal life (fighting the flu and having my car give up the ghost permanently) bleeding over into my writing life. I haven’t written in days, and I’m dying to get back into it, yet I am beating myself up with the whole “why bother?” attitude. Sometimes I feel like I am not doing anything in the realm of writing. And that is why your post is so important at times like this. Looking back, I see I accomplished more in 2016 than I had in any previous year. My blog grew from like 50 followers to around 280. I entered and finished NaNoWriMo, wrote the first draft of a novel, completed second drafts of two more novels, made it halfway through another long form story, produced numerous short stories and poems, And made the decision that my stories are made to be read, not to sit on a hard drive and wait for publishers to show interest. 2016 showed me what success should be for me. Telling stories and putting them out there for people to read. Now, if I can just get out of this funk and pick my pen up again so I can get busy on 2017 ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Liked by 2 people

    • I’m sorry to hear you are going through a tough time, but don’t give up. Paul, your writing is wonderful! I’ve seen you gain more and more readers with every story your post.

      See! You’ve done a lot! You’ll get out of the funk. ^__^ When I was sick, I didn’t want to write either. It’s hard to write stories if you, yourself, is stressed about something. Once the issues pass, the ideas will start flowing again.

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Wow! Those are some awesome accomplishments. I guess my accomplishments would be joining NaNoWriMo and finally building enough courage to try and start to put my writing out there. I’ve always been worried about critisim โ€‹on my stories that I’ve worked so hard on, but I’m realizing that it’s necessary and that I have to do it in order to get better.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. This definitely is more than an accomplishment; it’s an achievement. I am really happy for you. โค
    I wish I had anything to share with you, but there is not much. As I am totally a newbie in the field of writing (serious writing), getting my 100-word story published in Reader's Digest magazine in the first attempt is nothing but a dream come true for me. And it happened this month, in March, 2017. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Other than this, starting to blog is one of the best decisions that I ever made in my life. Reading such wonderful posts and getting to share my own write-ups are the reasons that make me believe so. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

