Updates and Instant Gratification

Hey, everyone! I apologize for being MIA, but I’ve been busy this last week. Before we get into today’s blog post, I want to tell you what’s going on with me.

So, last week, I started an in-person creative writing class. The first class was an awesome experience. It was nice meeting other writers and talking about their work in person. In addition to the writing class, I’m been active on Writing.com. On Writing.com, I’ve been doing Contest, Activites, and participating in the discussions.

Since I’m doing CAMP NaNoWriMo this month, I plan to do a lot of writing this weekend. Which means I am going to finish Clash of Tides!!! I am excited and sad, but I’m ready to put Elena’s story on break. For those who follow me, then you know I posted the first chapter of 9/Nine Realms on here. Once I’m done with Clash of Tides, I’ll either start 9/Nine Realms again or pick up a new story, Dawning Dragons. Dawning Dragons is like Eragon in the modern day world. However, the main character is from Baltimore MD, and Dragons aren’t extinct.

After doing period writing for so long, I want to try more modern day work.

Ok, so now onto today’s topic. Since I need to write today, I’m going to keep this short.

Recently, another writer brought up instant gratification when it comes to posting stories online. In a way, getting comments on our stories is like a drug. Getting praise on our stories feeds our egos, it helps us believe we are decent writers with a fighting chance to publish a book one day. However, what is the price for instant gratification?

Well, if we stop getting comments where readers say they love our work, we can get depressed. Our self-doubt will kick in full folds and say, “I guess you weren’t that good after all,” or “See, you blew it! They used to love you and now they don’t.”

As writers, we all know how the old writers did it – they wrote alone, with only a few friends reading their work. Once their stories were polished and ready for the world, then they submitted them. There was no internet to post their stories on, wait for readers and comments. They weren’t competing with other writers and feeling inadequate. It’s was just the writer and their story, and that’s it.

My question to all of you is, “Do you think instant gratification is worth it?”

Please let me know what you think!

Also, I will respond to all comments today ^__^ Thanks for being so awesome, everyone!

28 thoughts on “Updates and Instant Gratification

  1. I love the instant gratification of seeing people read my poetry and short stories on my poetry blog when I resumed writing in 2012. Wattpad became the next step to that with serialized stories which then led to publishing the completed works on Amazon and other platforms. It’s always good to have someone see your work as soon as you finish them. These days the only reason I hold back posting anything is because of a publishing schedule where everyone gets the product at a set time unless they sign up to be on my street team.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I agree it’s nice for shorter pieces, but for long WIP, I feel differently now. It does give me something to think about =) Thanks for commenting! You actually inspired this blog post :3

      Like

  2. I think there’s a line between it being worth it and not worth it. Yes it does boost confidence and can spur you further than ever before on your own, but as the first commenter said here, sometimes waiting it the best.

    Now I have a few select friends that have seen the most out of my novel I’m working on, because they are a big part of motivation. And then I do Snippet Sundays that I can share small bits from any WiP. But I do those to gain interest just as much as a general idea what my readers think of the story.

    I think it all depends on what you’re working on and your goal for the story. Personally I refuse to share something in its entirety until it is polished and the best I can make it or I cringe. But as I also learned from other authors, posting online in its entirety when you want to traditionally publish it actually hurts your chances of getting it published because it’s considered a re-publish then. I think it really all depends on you and the story.

    Liked by 2 people

    • I suppose so. I see what you mean. For short pieces, I think it’s fine, but for long WIP I’m shying away from posting them online. Yes, I think waiting is best sometimes ^__^

      Hmm, I never thought of sharing small Snippets. Maybe I’ll try that sometime. That’s a good way to be. I’m finding it best to share the stories once they are complete. I’ve heard that, too, but like you said, it depends on your goals for the story.

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting =)

      Liked by 1 person

  3. It really comes down to the goals of the writer. What kind of career or hobby do you want?
    For me, I have a couple of novels in the editing stages, and my plan is to try to get an agent and publish through the traditional route (although I can’t stress enough that I’m not against self-publishing and may in fact change my mind later). But since my current plan is to go through an agent, I have more restrictions on sharing my work before it’s published. Heading forward, I can always change my mind and share stuff, but if I started sharing with the intent to go the self-publishing route, it would be more difficult to change my mind and try to publish through the traditional route after I’ve shared my work online.
    In the meantime, I try to publish short stories and poems in literary journals to start building a foundation for my writing career. And my blog is a part of that, so I publish some of my shorter work on my there. It’s a process and balancing act, and I always try to keep my goal of having a career as an author in mind. I want to build the foundation right, so it doesn’t all topple over by going in one direction too fast.
    So, yeah I like that instant gratification, but I don’t rely on it. It’s the same as any other positive reinforcement in this field. It will be short lived and then you have to keep moving on to the next step whether you get another boost of encouragement or not.
    Great post, and conversation for writers to participate in!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi, Mandie!

      Sorry, it took me so long to respond to you. Your comments are so well thought out and depth, I usually spend some time thinking about my response.

      Yes, I agree with you that it depends on the writer’s career or hobby you want.

      I think having restrictions on sharing your work is smart. Honestly, I think it hurts writers to have their stories available to read online free. Sure, they can still publish, but the first books usually stay online for free. And, it’s been proven that most readers won’t continue past the first book.

      Ah! I’m trying to do that right now – submit shorter works for publishing to build up my writing career.

      Exactly! The instant gratification is short-lived, and it’s not really worth it to me.

      Great thoughts, Mandie!

      Liked by 1 person

      • No worries, Aka. I think these are good conversations to have with other writers. There’s always someone who points out something that I haven’t thought of before. You constantly give me ideas and information about online writing communities, social media, etc.
        The writing industry is evolving so fast. What seems like the best approach now may not be the best option in two years. I try to keep that in mind when planning on how to shape my future as a writer. I need to have goals and a direction to go, but I can’t get so obsessed with how it has to happen that I can’t change my plans as I go along.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Yep, I agree with Mandie and Sarah (as usual). I publish my flash fiction and enjoy the feedback I get on that, and from writing it every day I’ve undoubtedly improved and found my voice as a writer. But I have a couple of longer projects on the go which I plan to pursue through more traditional avenues if possible, so there’s no point sharing them yet. They’ll be done when they’re done. In the meantime, the blog is a good way to build up a core of people who might be interested in those longer works.

    Liked by 2 people

    • I absolute agree with you. Sharing short pieces works fine, but for longer works, it’s best to wait. I decided to have short works posted online, and for longer works, I’m going to wait. Thanks so much for stopping by and commenting!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. For my longer novels, I want to wait until they are completely done, edited, and published before I receive any feedback. But I have no problem posting my short stories and poems on my blog for feedback. It helps me improve my writing in my longer novels.
    Great post, Akaluv!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. It’s funny, I was thinking about this while I was ill and I decided to get back to focusing on the writing, rather than thinking about Likes and comments. I even turned the Like button off because I didn’t really see that it was doing anything but distracting me…but then I had a couple of emails from other bloggers saying my Like button wasn’t working and a tweet from someone asking why I’d turned the Likes off! In the end I caved and turned it back on. I guess comments and Likes have a good and bad side and we just have to learn not to let it matter too much. Or maybe I’m just rambling…

    Liked by 2 people

    • Isn’t that how it goes sometimes? At least it shows people like your work. That’s always good =) You’re not rambling at all 🙂 Sometimes, I think of removing the Like and Comment buttons from my blog, but I don’t know how that would go lol.

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting =)

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Looks like you’ve got a lot of projects to keep you busy! That’s exciting!
    Also, you bring up some really good points. I totally get what you’re saying, because I so that too. If I’m doing really well with my blog, but then my stats start to go down, I can become depressed, and I feel like quitting. I guess the goal is to push through those moments. There’s nothing wrong with gratification, you just shouldn’t live for that alone! Whether that applies to your writing, or any part of your life…

    Liked by 1 person

    • I really do! Sometimes I wonder if I’m doing too much.

      Yes! I totally agree with you – you shouldn’t live for gratification alone. As writers and artist, we need to live without gratification. It’s best to focus on our projects, make them the best we can, and then try to get all the praise =)

      Liked by 1 person

  8. I think, its like anything else in life, delayed gratification is best, rather than instant – then hopefully being liked is all the more appreciated. Another interesting post, Akaluv! and good luck with all you projects ;>)

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Maybe, just a little. For me, it’s a lot more about learning to write better, since I learned a lot from the comments I have gotten about writing. If I wrote completely alone, maybe I might not be able to finish the work at all. Or it might come out pretty much horrible, after what I have experienced putting a work that I thought was good enough and learning that 8t wasn’t.

    Like

Leave a Reply

