Near the End (For Writers)

Last weekend, I started writing the Epilogue for Clash of Tides! Yes, the Epilogue! My first novel is almost complete, and this is how I feel right now (and I’m sure other writers have felt this way, too):

haters

I won’t lie; it feels good to almost be done with Clash of Tides, but at the same time, I’m sad. I’ve been with Elena on her journey, and I had my own journey, too. Clash of Tides has visited different writing websites, has had different readers, and ultimately, will be edited for submission to an agent.

It’s so strange to think how far I’ve come with this story and in my own writing journey. After years of frustration (including a year of dealing with some stuck-up writers), I’ve finally found writing websites that work for me (after talking with a fellow writer last night, I realize I’m tired of so many young adult stories. I guess that explains why Wattpad and me broke up; my stories are definitely not young adult). And, I’m also taking my first in-person writing class right now with other writers! It’s been, ugh, I can’t think of the words. A roller-coaster. Now since things are dropping into place, and I’ll be working on my next series soon, I feel like this:

Dance

Even though the story is almost finished, I know there is still work to be done. Once I get the re-write and edits done, I plan to hire an editor! Ahh!! It’s so wild to think I’ll be getting my own editor. Many of you have done this before, but I’m super happy to finally be following my writing dreams. Also, in June, I plan to start my own freelance writing business, so there are big things ahead.

Now, enough about me, how are you all doing?

When you reach the end of your long stories, how do you feel? Do you start thinking about writing and editing, or do you start with the next idea in your head? I wanted to blog more about reaching the end of our novels, but I felt it would be more fun to discuss instead.

So, share with me your thoughts, everyone! If you are a published writer, how did it feel to finish your story and prepare it for publishing? I would love to read your thoughts!

Now, I am going to go plan out the next books in the Clash of Tides series. I still have two more books to write until I can finally type,

the end

22 thoughts on “Near the End (For Writers)

  1. I’m so proud of you! When it’s published I will definitely be buying a copy, it’s one of my favourite books!

    I’m sort of a whirlwind when I finish stories. They take ages, and by the time they’re done I’ve got so many other ideas that I jump straight into whatever has inspired me next. Usually, I come back to a story after a while to edit it, or I progressively check back chapter by chapter when my mind is a little clearer.

    But nothing feels more amazing than being able to put a story down forever and say ‘this is a finished product, and I will not be revisiting it’. Which I’ve only been able to do once so far…

    Stories are like raising children. They’re good fun to begin with but when you’re finished, you ain’t going back. But you still miss those days when you were writing them.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes! I feel the same way about finishing stories =) When they’re done, they’re finished, and you don’t want to go back. Thanks so much for the support and for still reading my blog. It means a lot to me. :3

      Like

  2. Congratulations, Aka! I’m so excited for you!
    I usually set my novels aside for a while to get a little distance from them. It gives me fresher eyes when I go to read them, and it makes it easier to find problems with the stories. I’m interested to hear what your journey will be since you’ve been receiving feedback while you’ve been writing this book.
    Awesome to hear you’re taking a class. I’m excited to see what your next step will be after you finish the Epilogue.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Mandie! Once the story is complete, I also plan to take a break from it. I think reviewing the story with fresh eyes is a must. I’ve received some feedback from readers, and I plan to use that to edit the story. So far, the class is awesome.

      Once I’m ready to do the editing for COT, I’ll post my next move.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Congrats on being so close!

    I’m about in the same boat with FtD right now, only about two chapters from the end of my very first completed novel. My feelings are about the same: excited, scared, sad, and stunned at the same time.

    For me it was an exhilarating and amazing feeling to get published last October, though it was only a short story to an anthology. Most of the same feelings, but mostly joy and a boost of confidence. I think I like to take a small break before editing so that I can look at it with a fresh set of eyes though.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! It feels like I’m just around the corner with only a few more minutes left to my destination. It’s such a scary feeling, but also a good feeling.

      That’s so awesome! When the story is done, are you submitting it for publication or self-publishing?

      Publishing a short story in an anthology is awesome and an accomplishment! Congrats!

      I think that’s a good idea, too – taking a break and then editing the manuscript with fresh eyes. Thanks so much for stopping by and commenting!

      Liked by 1 person

      • It’s certainly a wide mix of feelings to be finishing. I don’t think that ever goes away. LOL.

        When I finish my novel I’ll be waiting a little to fit it and then hopefully submitting it to a publisher. I would rather go that route that self-publishing because my odds might be better on getting it out there. And thank you. I was pretty thrilled to get published last year. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Congratulations! And your first novel? Double congratulations! Let me tell you…it never gets old. I just finished my…sixteenth? Seventeenth (I lost count)? Last month, and it’s still the same feeling every time, like you conquered an insurmountable mountain.

    Preparing a story for publishing is a completely different experience. I take away the creative hat and put on the critical hat. I usually do this right away, while the story is still fresh in my head. I go through several rounds of drafts before I actually get to the polishing stage. Doing it full-time, I was able to get my last novel to tip-top shape within 4 months, but that’s a rare case (I was able to work out a lot of the story issues before the novel was finished). I’ve taken at least a year, even more, to get some novels ready.

    Anyway, keep at it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! Yep, it will be my first novel. Whoa! You write a lot. What are your stories about?

      I heard preparing a story for publishing can be rewarding and stressful. I wish I could get my novels done and ready in 4 months. Thanks so much for stopping by and commenting.

      Your comment was so encouraging =)

      Liked by 1 person

      • I write epic fantasy…you can take a look at my site to read more about them. http://www.ksvilloso.com

        Hehe, well, it did take years of outlines to be able to write the novel (about 112k words) in 4 months, and it still needs to get looked over by my editors so that’ll take another few months depending on their own speed. There’s no way around it except make a consistent habit of writing (finish things, and then start a new one, rinse and repeat). The trap most people fall into is constantly re-editing their first novel for years, because they feel it isn’t quite perfect enough. It’s not supposed to be–it’s your first. Your subsequent novels will be better.

        And no problem! I like helping out young writers. I’ve been around a lot, so I know the habits that may make or break them, and I was one myself not that long ago. Too many give up for all the wrong reasons.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Congrats! It’s such a bittersweet feeling, isn’t it? I remember when I could finally see the end of The Star and the Ocean and I became really eager to finish. But once it was over it felt like a piece me had kind of… died. I know how dramatic that sounds but it’s true! The story had been such a big part of my life for so long and I LOVE it. At least there are the next books in the series!

    Like

  6. Yay from me too! I felt a bit like you when finishing Turtle Beach, I felt I would miss the characters! And I did for a while. But they might be picked up again some time and they are happy enough for now in their fictional world while I flex my writing muscles with other characters. It’s a kind of magic, isn’t it?

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Congratulations, I haven’t even finished a work yet. Though, I’m at the ending third of my first novel, and well I can say it’s hard to even believe I made it this far(my last work was around the same point too, but a little far off from tying up all the threads.) As for me, I guess I am writing other works as well. It would be probably impossible for me to write just one work alone without abandoning it completely at some point, or eventually giving in to work on another.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

