1-year Anniversary!!

I wanted to post this earlier, but I had writing class tonight. So, I saw this in my notifications:

1-year Anniversary

 

Today, marks a year ago that I left Wattpad behind to create my own website. I’m always amazed how much can change in one year, but looking back on everything, it was for the best.

I’ve met so many writers here, and all of them are awesome, wonderful people. Basically, there are many adjectives to describe them ^___^

I don’t want to list out specific blogs, but I want to say thank you to everyone for supporting me throughout the year. When I first started this blog, it was to ease my pain from another writing site. Over this year, I regained my confidence back as a writer, and my self-doubt has retreated somewhere in the depths of my mind (and I hope it stays there).

If you are struggling as a writer, don’t give up. I know it sounds cliche, but you really have to keep pushing yourself. It’s a scary thought giving up before you even know your real potential. And that’s what I almost did, but now, I finally feel well-rounded as a writer.

So, I don’t have much to blog about today since this is just a thank you post, but I did see this eariler:

 

The Gunslinger by Stephen King was one of the first books I read that got me into fantasy. As for the trailer, I have my own feelings on it, but it sparked a question I wanted to ask you all.

If you had a choice, what medium would you choose for your stories and why? Would you choose a tv show, movie, anime, or stay in book format?

For my stories, I always imagined them in anime form. Honestly, I don’t know how I feel about actors playing my characters. The joy of anime format is the characters can look the way you want since they don’t need a cast. So, what about you, what medium would you choose?

 

29 thoughts on “1-year Anniversary!!

  1. Happy anniversary! Well done and congrats on switching across! As for your question… I often view my writing in my head as a music video, epic fight battles to some big loud rock track.
    I wouldn’t mind going for a movie version BUT… I’d need to be in control of the script 🙂
    I actually hate most book to TV / movie conversions (bit of a purist) so yeah, i’d need control over it!

    Case in point; The Gunslinger. I have deep reservations about this epic piece of prose going movie. First, I’m not a Matthew McConowhoever fan and I CANNOT see him as the Dark Man. Second, The Gunslinger series is such a psychological journey… I doubt they can convey that in a few movies. The series wasn’t about all showy effects… it was about the characters. I feel they’re going to omit this fact. Maybe wrong, but that’s what sense I get from the trailer.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thanks so much! I’m so glad I switched to WordPress.I’ve met so many awesome writers here. Huh, that’s interesting. I’ve never had anyone say they view their stories as a music video before, but I like the idea =)

      I don’t blame you for wanting control over the script. I feel it’s important for a writer to have control over their own work, even if it is adapted into another medium.

      About The Gunslinger, I agree with you! It’s like they turned it into an action film. I honestly hate when they do that to books to movies. One of the joys about The Gunslinger was getting to know Roland as a character and the world-building.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Congratulations on hitting the 1 year mark!

    As for which format I’d love to see my stories get translated into, I’m split between anime and movie. Either one would hit my happy “Pardon me, I’m just geeking out over here.” button. 😀 It would be interesting to see who they would cast as my characters in a live action movie. I just hope they’d let Elsie keep her awesome frizzy black hair.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thanks so much!!

      And thanks for answering my question. Lol, I know that feeling of wanting to geek out over a medium for our stories. I hope your work gets turned into a movie one day =)

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Woot! Woot! Congratulations, Aka!!!! There’s much excitement over here for you. Such a wonderful journey. It perplexes me why there are people out there who are determined to snuff out the creativity of other writers. I don’t see how a writer can grow and flourish in the face of negativity and harsh, vague criticism. We have enough self-doubt to try to work through, there’s no need to have it piled on.
    I’m so glad that you moved away from Wattpad and feel confident about your writing again!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much, Mandie!

      I totally agree with you! As writers, we already deal with so much, so why bring a fellow writer down? I’m glad I moved away from that, too, and I hope things will only go up from here. Thanks again for stopping by and commenting!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Congratulations and happy anniversary, akaluv! ❤

    I know you probably don’t remember me, but I actually was the one who created a fan fiction of clash of tides, and read COT when it first published on wattpad. Any who, I just wanted to say congratulations and I’m so happy to hear you’re getting COT published! And for the question, I also see my novels in anime form. (Which I don’t know if it’s because I’m a artist, or just because I like anime. lol)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much! Of course, I remember you :3 I won’t ever forget you ^_^ I still think about that fanfiction you wrote based off COT. Lol, well, I hope Clash of Tides will get published. Right now, I’m finishing it and looking for an editor to help me get the second draft done. I like anime, too so I can see where both sides come from.

      How are you doing? How is your writing going?

      Like

      • Aww, you’re welcome! ^-^ and it’s good to know I wasn’t forgotten by a special writer, lol. And if you do get COT published, I certainly will be buying it. (And it will have a special place in my library of books, lol). And I’m doing good, my writing has improved a little and I’ve been studying art and writing more, so I hope maybe soon or sometime this year I can get a few pieces of artwork of Elena and assan from COT for the fan fiction I’m editing. 🙂 but before I do, I was wondering If I could have your permission to post it? It’s in digital art/half-realism/anime form.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Congratulations on your first year anniversary and also moving on. I think I’m the same as you, as I finally seem to realise that most of my works tend to be in the anime format. Where there can be a lot of running plot threads and arcs instead of one complete story in one book. And the characters, they tend to be in a anime format too. It has been something that I always enjoyed thinking through, and recently manga and anime have been giving me a lot more joy than most novels that I have picked up. So, I think that the anime format generally helps me to imagine my story and also having a lot of anime and manga inspire my stories.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much! I totally agree about the anime format. That’s one reason I love anime so much. Like you, I have a lot of plot threads and arcs instead of one complete story in my books.

      Thanks so much for stopping by and commenting! =)

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Congrats on the one year! Feels pretty cool to look back, don’t it? I sometimes find myself just sifting back through old posts of my own during the anniversaries just to see the memories and time lapse difference.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much! It does feel good to see how far I’ve come in a year. I went from barely getting reads on Wattpad for my stories to having a successful blog and winning contests on Writing.com =)

      That’s a good idea! I should look back at my old posts.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Happy anniversary! I, for one, am really pleased you moved over to WordPress…you were one of the first people to start commenting on my blog and your positivity gave me a boost when I was thinking about giving up.

    Personally I would love to hear my stories on the radio, preferably being told by Christopher Lee…but I think I missed the boat there.

    Like

Leave a Reply

